MPU clinch co-ed U12, boys U17 titles


MP United FC’s co-ed U12 players and coaches pose for a photo before a game in the NMIFA youth league at the Hopwood Junior High School Field. (Contributed Photo)

MP United Football Club ruled two divisions in the 2016 NMIFA Youth Spring League.

The group’s boys U17 team gave the club the first championship without even playing in last weekend’s pair of matches at the Oleai Sports Complex Field. MP United virtually took the division crown after its closest pursuer Matansa FC was beaten by Tan Holdings FC, 2-1.

With the Matansa loss, MP United moved to the solo lead in the five-team field with one more game left in the double-round robin season. MP United holds a 5-1-1 win-draw-loss record against the 5-1-2 mark of Matansa and the former has one game left (versus Kanoa this Saturday), while the latter is done for the season.

A Kanoa upset over MP United this Saturday will give the latter the same record as Matansa. MP United will then end up at first place despite the tie due to the head-to-head rule implemented by the NMIFA Youth Committee. MP United won over Matansa in their first meeting last Feb. 20, 1-0, while the opposing teams had a 2-2 draw in their April 2 duel.

Meanwhile, Tan Holdings is a locked at third place in the U17 division with its 4-0-3 mark. Rico Roy Reyes and Mareko Tekopua scored the two goals for Tan Holdings, which will battle Paire this Saturday for its final game in the season.

Paire is at fourth place following a 2-1 victory over Kanoa in the other U17 pairing last Saturday. Saixian Bagsic and Dai Podziewski nailed the two goals for Paire, which improved to a 2-0-5 mark. Kanoa, which got its lone goal from Ian Maniago in the penultimate week of the division, fell to a 1-0-5 card.

In the co-ed U12 division, MP United secured the championship after a scoreless draw against Kanoa last Saturday at the Hopwood Junior High School Field.

MP United finished the three-round robin contest with a 7-1-1 slate, narrowly beating the 6-1-2 record of Kanoa. Had Kanoa won, it would have forced a tie with MP United and since they would have a 1-1 mark in head-to-head, a knockout match would have been set up to decide the division champion.

MP United, which defeated Kanoa, 7-1, in their first meeting, scored the most goals (68) in the season despite failing to hit the board in its final game. The division champion also allowed the least goals (18) and collected 22 points in nine games.

Kanoa, on the other hand, totaled 44 goals and gave up 15. Tan Holdings (3-0-6) and Paire (1-0-8) rounded out the division.

Tan Holdings won its last game in the season after downing Paire, 6-3, in the other match at the Hopwood pitch. Angelo Pulido towed Tan Holdings to its third victory after drilling four goals, while Justin Weaver and Anthony John Bergancia registered the two other goals. With its six goals, Tan Holdings managed to collect 29 in nine games, while giving up 55.

Paire, which drew two goals from Dylan Mister and one from River Kramer, had only 18 goals in three rounds and allowed the most (62). The last finisher wrapped up the season with a 1-0-8 card.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.