MPU wins Challenge Cup


MP United FC U17 players hoist the perpetual trophy after beating TanHoldings FC in the finals, 4-0, in the 2017 Fall Challenge Cup last Saturday at the Hopwood Middle School Field. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

MP United Football Club topped the 2017 Fall Challenge Cup after shutting down TanHoldings FC in the finals, 4-0, last Saturday at the Hopwood Middle School Field.

Sunjoon Tenorio anchored MP United’s easy victory as he made back-to-back goals to close out the team’s offense. The MP United striker drilled his first goal in the 70th minute and the second and last one two minutes later.

Edwin Kim and Joshua Abragan were the other scorers in MP United’s title victory over TanHoldings, which managed to force a scoreless draw in the first half before folding up on defense in the second. Kim broke the ice in the winner-take-all finale with his conversion in the 65th minute, while Abrahan made it a 2-0 advantage for MP United with his shot two minutes later. MP United remained aggressive on offense, paving the way for Tenorio’s brace.

Tenorio ended up winning the Golden Boot award in the short tournament after earning three goals in two games. He had one in MP United’s 5-1 triumph over Kanoa FC in their semis game last Wednesday. Anthony Fruit, Kwang Jo Lim, and Dai Podziewski were the other players who hit the board for MP United in their match versus Kanoa with the latter posting a pair.

Completing the roster of MP United, which also ruled this year’s spring and fall seasons of the boys U17 league, are Golden Glove awardee Chris Aninzo, Eui Jin Byen, Andy Cho, Eun Syu Hahn, Jun Bum Huh, Clayton Izuka, Oliver Lee, Kevin and Alex Park, Jonah Pohl, Skyler Poon, and Rinto Takahashi. Lydia Tan and Eric Abragan are the team manager and coach, respectively.

MP United had a rematch against TanHoldings for the Challenge Cup after the latter blanked Matansa, 3-0, in the other semis pairing. Mareko Tekopua, John Guiller Canape, and Emmanuel Aniana delivered the goals for TanHoldings.

With MP United winning anew against its perennial rival, the former was awarded the perpetual trophy in a brief awards ceremony after the title game last weekend. Northern Mariana Islands Football Association executive director Ruselle Zapanta presented the trophy to MP United.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.