Mt. Carmel inducts members into NJHS, NEHS

New members of the National Junior Honor Society pose for a group photo with school officials after the induction ceremony on Wednesday. (Thomas A. Manglona II)

New members of the National Junior Honor Society pose for a group photo with school officials after the induction ceremony on Wednesday. (Thomas A. Manglona II)

Mount Carmel School inducted seven members into its Immaculate Heart Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society and 32 members into the newly formed Fr. Arnold Bendowski National Elementary Honor Society yesterday.
Acting school president Keiko Yamagata welcomed students and congratulated them for their significant achievement. She reminded the students that being inducted is not the end of reaching their goals. “It is just the beginning of the journey for you to uphold to the highest standards the pillars of the Honor Society.”

Students inducted into the NJHS and NEHS were selected by the school’s faculty council and must have a grade point overage of 3.0 and had demonstrated volunteerism, exemplary behavior, and leadership.

The seven inductees for the National Junior Honor Society include: Jan Emmanuel Bobadilla, Rosa Castro, Maria Clarinda Catalma, Hee Joo Lee, Jeff Matthew Melchor, De Jana Muna, and Gewel Villlacrusis.

The 32 inductees from 4th to 6th grade are Lynette Aldave, Robin Alvareg, Katherine Woodruff, Kalea Borja, Fiona Bucalig, Francesca Bucalig, Riley Buenaventura, Kevin Chong, Jewel Combinido, Daphne Cruzana, Jeremiah Diaz, William Deleon Guerrero, Monique Duenas, Aldarine Galang, Brandee Hunter, Vaughn Mallarie, Alleah Mendiola, William Minami, Lleyton Javier, Devon Muna, Brandon Pelen, Kiana Propst, Katleyn Rabang, Reyes Blake, Vidal Sablan, Dustin Salilin, Maria Sanchez, Maaya Sato, Theresa Schweiger, Richard Steele, Joshua Tenorio, and Kaia Travilla.

Wednesday’s ceremony marked the 18th year for the existence of the National Junior Honor Society and was the inaugural induction ceremony for the Fr. Arnold Bendowski National Elementary Honor Society. The NEHS was named in honor of the school’s founder Fr. Arnold Bendowski.

In the middle of the ceremony students were tapped on their right shoulder by current honor society members, which indicated their acceptance into the organization—days after submitting their applications.

Fourth grade inductee Kiana Propst said that she was both excited and nervous to hear about being a part of the prestigious organization. She said, “Now I am going to work even harder to be more responsible with the things I do and serve my community and school.”

Fellow NEHS inductee Richard Steele echoed Propst’s statement. “It was a total surprise to me. I will now continue to behave well and be the best student I can be.”

Eigth grade NJHS inductee Maria Catalma said she felt proud to have been accepted and that she “worked hard for it.” She added, “I think for a change I am going to be more responsible for myself and the school and island community.”

After taking the oath, students and parents were treated to a brunch at the school gymnasium courtesy of current members and with assistance from the high school National Honor Society.

MCS teachers Candida Bahillo and Frances Taimanao serve as advisers for the NJHS and NEHS, respectively.

Thomas Manglona II | Correspondent

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.