Napu paddlers acknowledge host of sponsors


Members and officials of Napu Outrigger Canoe Club gather for a group photo at the departure area of the Saipan International Airport last Wednesday before they leave for Palau to compete in the Micro Cup 2016. (Contributed Photo)

Napu Outrigger Canoe Club’s junior men and women’s team are now in Palau getting ready to hit the waters off Meyuns Ramp in Koror for the much-anticipated Micro Cup 2016.

The club’s participation in the tournament that will run until this Sunday was made possible by its long list of sponsors.

“We, the board members of Napu would like to thank all our sponsors and family members for their generosity support that made this competitive trip possible,” club president Ponce Rasa said in an email sent to Saipan Tribune yesterday.

The club’s host of sponsors includes Best Sunshine International, Ltd. (CSR), M.S. Villagomez Enterprises, Inc., J.C. Tenorio Enterprises, Inc., McDonald’s Saipan, Pacific Islands Club, Saipan Mayor David Apatang, IT&E, Rotary Club of Saipan, Bridge Capital, LLC, Saipan Shipping, YCO Hardware (True Value), YCO Hardware (Do It Best), Shell Gas Station Susupe, Surf Club Saipan, D&Q International, Wind Surf Saipan, Duty Free Saipan, Mobil Gas Station, Trench Tech Gym, Joeten Superstore, I Love Saipan Store, Law Office of William Fitzgerald, The Torres Brothers, LLC, Anthony R. Sterns M.D., Seventh Day Adventist, Michael Sablan, Joe and Barbara Wesley, Scott Dottino, Steven Brownstein, Ray Yumul, Reps. Joseph Deleon Guerrero, Edmund Villagomez, Anthony Sablan, BJ Attao, Felicidad Ogumoro, Edwin Aldan, Angel Demapan, and Joseph Lee Pan Guerrero, Saipan and Northern Islands Legislative Delegation member, and Gov. Ralph DLG Torres

Napu’s junior men’s and women’s squads will be competing in the 500m, 1,500m, and long distance races. The junior men’s team has Ryan Aguon, Brandon Cabrera, Kyle Reyes, Sammy Litulumar, Leon Laniyo, Hekido Helgen, Daven Hocog, and Raven Igisaiar as members, while the girls squad is composed of Daydra Hocog, Isabel Ito, Julianna Hanson, Rika Diaz, Jewel Cubangbang, Dhalian Salas, Camille Muna, Rachel Tudela, Leisha Guerrero Mendiola, and Mayiah Duenas. Jason Tarkong is the teams’ coach.

“As president of Napu Outrigger Canoe Club, I am very confident that our junior squads will perform well in Palau,” Rasa said.

Napu is one of the four clubs representing the CNMI in the Micro Cup. Marianas Outrigger Club, Saipan Paddling Club, and Marianas Pacific Paddlers are the other Commonwealth teams participating in the three-day tournament.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.