National GOP leaders call for equal US citizenship


National Republican Party leaders repudiated the unequal citizenship of Americans living in the country’s territories during a meeting of the Republican National Committee on Friday in Nashville.

The Republican National Committee did so with the passage of a resolution titled “Affirming the Equal Citizenship for All Americans.” The resolution’s sponsor was the Virgin Islands’ national committeeman, Jevon Williams.

“The Republican National Committee calls upon Congress to ensure that American citizens residing in the territories of Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands have unfettered enjoyment of their American citizenship, including the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution,” states the resolution.

“All Americans must be able to enjoy the full benefits of their citizenship,” said Williams, who serves in the Army National Guard. “For too long, Washington has ignored Americans in the territories, a disproportionate number of whom wear the uniform defending the freedoms and liberties that define us as Americans, including basic constitutional rights that are wrongly denied to them.”

The resolution will now be sent to President Trump, Interior Secretary Ryan Zinke, House Speaker Paul Ryan, and Senate Majority Mitch McConnell.

Americans in the territories are U.S. citizens, but do not receive full enjoyment of their citizenship. In addition to being denied both a vote for president and full congressional representation, not all provisions of the Constitution have been extended to the territories.

The legal basis for two classes of U.S. citizenship derives from the Insular Cases, a series of Supreme Court rulings dating to the late 1890s when some of the territories were first acquired. The principal author of the Insular Cases legal doctrine was Justice Henry Brown, who also authored the high court’s notorious racist and pro-segregationist ruling in Plessy v. Ferguson.

All 56 states and territories are represented on the 168-member Republican National Committee by the party chairman, committeewoman, and committeeman.

American Samoa is the fifth territory, but American Samoans are U.S. nationals, not citizens. (PR)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.