NMC honor society inducts 72 new members

Posted on Oct 13 2020


The Northern Marianas College Beta Lambda Psi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society recently inducted 72 new members into the chapter in a virtual ceremony that is being billed as the second largest induction ceremony in NMC’s history. 

Family, friends, NMC interim president Frankie Eliptico, Learning & Student Success dean Charlotte Cepeda, keynote speaker Lisa Lunde, PTK members, newly-elected officers, and advisers joined in the first ever virtual induction ceremony to honor the new inductees this fall 2020 semester. 

The induction ceremony was led by the newly-elected PTK officers: president Jamerie Paras, vice president Ninfalyn V. Rabago, treasurer Charlie Bell M. Foster, recording secretary Angela F. Bernal, membership secretary Alyssa Jean S. Pantaleon, public relations secretary Jolina Kazandra Marie P. Ada, and advisers, Kaelani Demapan, Alexis Cabrera, Geri Hofschneider, and William Hunter.

An international organization, Phi Theta Kappa recognizes academic excellence, leadership, and service in two-year colleges. It has over 1,200 chapters on college campuses worldwide. Its mission is two-fold: (1) to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year and four-year college students; and (2) to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship. 

In order to qualify for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 college credits, be pursuing an associate or bachelor’s degree at NMC, and must maintain a 3.5 cumulative grade point average. There is an ongoing membership drive now through Dec. 31, 2020, for eligible students. 

The 72 newest full members include students from the Business, Criminal Justice, Education, Natural Resource Management, Nursing, and Liberal Arts programs: Anette Shianne Agulto, Walter Edwin Aldan, Arriane Maricar H. Antonio, Rita Lei Atalig, Mikah S. Bandoja, Aldwin Ray T. Batusin, Victoria Simone Bellas, Jan Emmanuel DLC. Bobadilla, Mary Rose Brondo, Christine Joy Cabang, Consolacion Rose Cabrera, Allia Jam O. Calilap, Leila T. Catching, Nikki C. Cepeda, Ainah Lizave Chargualaf, Emirina Luisa F. Chong, Warphy D. Dela Rosa, Lizann Marie P. Deleon Guerrero, Crystal An F. Delos Reyes, Donna Mae L. Delos Reyes, Vincent Jose Fajardo, Dylan Thomas Fleming, Charlie Bell M. Foster, Dannafaye Alejandro Gatbonton, Michaela M. Gatdula, Zoe Li Gibson, Minhyeok Ha, Mona Monique Indalecio, Max L. Jang, Kathleen Loise G. Lacanilao, Duncan Aaron L. Laxa, Kierah Kisha I. Lee, Jameson Kui Lee, Lorenzy E. Leo, Riselle Iris Leong, Shanshan Li, Rumina S. Litulumar, Antonia Jeanette P. Lizama, Devin C. Macaranas, Tahani Cherise I. Mafnas, Tonnya Lynn S. Magofna, Donna X. Mallari, Lianne Jaye Del Rosario Manabat, Catherine Manalang, Victoria Ann P. Matsunaga, Kayziel Gayle M. Mojica, Michaela S. Mole, Janette B. Orosco, Rosalia A. Pangelinan, Janelle R. Pangilinan, Alyssa Jean S. Pantaleon, Sang Jin Park, Jenine Stephanie C. Perena, Victor Manuel Ramirez, Lesley Ann C. Rapiz, Alexis Jhicko Relatado, Laealdrie Jesslynne DLG. Sablan, Aj Castanada Samonte, Carmen Corazon D. San Nicolas, Jaiden M. Santos, Julie P. Santos, Laurina Ann D. Sebaklim, Abbas Shakir, Maya S. Shimizu, Heejung “Chloe” Sin, Dennis Kim F. Tababa, Jobelle Y. Tabuena, Jenalyn Victoria B. Tinio, Nyamkhuu Tseveenjargal, Tianna Thalia B. Villagomez, Chloette C. Villazon, and Jing Zhao. 

For additional information about the NMC Chapter, its memberships, or activities, contact Paras (jamerie.paras@my.marianas.edu) or any one of the advisers, Demapan (kaelani.demapan@marianas.edu), Cabrera (alexis.cabrera@marianas.edu), Hofschneider (geri.hofschneider@marianas.edu), or Hunter (william.hunter@marianas.edu). (NMC)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.