NMI Masons install 2016 officers


Newly installed Worshipful Master Pepe R. Crisostomo, fourth right, joins Saipan Mayor David M. Apatang, third right, honorary consul to the Philippines Eli Arago, fifth right, visiting Grand Masters, and Emon Lodge No. 179 officers for a group photo after his installation last Saturday at the Saipan World Resort’s Royal Taga Hall. (Jon Perez)

Pepe R. Crisostomo was installed as Emon Lodge No. 179’s Worshipful Master of the Free and Accepted Masons that held their 25th Annual Installation of elected and appointed officers for Masonic year 2016-2017 last Saturday at the Royal Taga Hall of the Saipan World Resort.

Very Worshipful Master Ramoncito B. Piana, a past District Deputy Grand Master, was the installing officer while VW Roger Rebanal, DDGM Guam MD Overseas A, served as master of ceremonies.

Right Worshipful Grand Master Cliffton Clyabrooks, DDGM Prince Hall Lodge GL of Washington State, was the assistant master of ceremonies. Saipan Mayor David M. Apatang and the Philippines’ honorary consul to the CNMI Eli M. Arago were the special guests.

Crisostomo replaced VW Romeo D. Malasarte, who became an Immediate Past Master and is also the DDGM of Masonic District Overseas E.

Crisostomo, in his speech, said that he knows there are challenges ahead but he is confident that they could find solutions with the help of his brethren.

“I never planned to become a Worshipful Master but I thank the brethren who entrusted to me this position. I will rule and govern in all equality. Freemasonry is an ancient brotherhood that exist with important moral reasons,” said Crisostomo.

Apatang congratulated Crisostomo and the other officers of Emon Lodge 179 in the hopes of continuing the Masons’ goal of “making good men better.”

“I give you my best wishes as you continue to carry your duties and responsibilities as a Freemason. Every person’s job is to help others and the process of being a better person has no stop sign. It is a continuous process,” added Apatang.

Arago thanked Emon Lodge No. 179 members as they also help out in activities of the Philippine Consulate here in the CNMI.

“It is my first time to speak in an organization composed by honorable brethren. Freemasonry is the foundation of good community leaders and their solid system stood the test of time. Let us continue and strengthen our partnership towards a better Commonwealth,” Arago said.

Melvn De Monteverde (senior warden); Arnel A. Metran (junior warden) VW Wilfredo G. Ching, PM (secretary); VW Casiano M. Bostre, PM (treasurer); and VW Daniel E. Banez, PM (auditor) are the other elected officers.

Joel I. Subang (senior deacon), Saturnino C. Alciso III (junior deacon), Wendell Mary Posadas (senior steward), Sonny Pestana (junior steward), Sonny Pablo (almoner), Pepito O. Reyes (chaplain), Valentin Bolivar (lecturer), Joselito E. Espino (marshal), VW Victor G. Brana (orator), Carlos Eslaban (organist), and Ronnie Ano (tyler) are the appointed officers.

Jon Perez | Reporter
Jon Perez began his writing career as a sports reporter in the Philippines where he has covered local and international events. He became a news writer when he joined media network ABS-CBN. He joined the weekly DAWN, University of the East’s student newspaper, while in college.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.