NMSA names teams, administrators of the year

Posted on Mar 13 2023


The Northern Marianas Sports Association board members from left, Alex Sablan, president Jerry Tan, John Davis, James Lee, standing, second right, and Nick Gross, standing right, pose for a photo with the 2022 Teams of the Year—baseball, tennis, and weightlifting—during the 2022 NMSA Annual Sports Award Banquet last Tuesday evening at the Hibiscus Hall of the Crowne Plaza Resort Saipan. (LEIGH GASES)

The Northern Marianas Sports Association recognized the NMI’s weightlifting, baseball, and tennis teams as the 2022 Teams of the Year during the 2022 NMSA Annual Sports Award Banquet Tuesday evening at the Hibiscus Hall of the Crowne Plaza Resort Saipan.

As for the award for Administrator of the Year, instead of just one, all nine sports federations that medaled in the 2022 Northern Marianas Pacific Mini Games were recognized as Administrators of the Year.

They are the Northern Marianas Athletics, Northern Marianas Badminton Association, Saipan Baseball League, Northern Mariana Islands Volleyball Association, Commonwealth Federation of Golf Associations, Northern Mariana Islands Tennis Association, Triathlon Association of the CNMI, Northern Marianas National Paddle Sports Association, and CNMI Weightlifting Federation.

The CNMI Weightlifting National Team members that bagged multiple medals in the Mini Games consisted of Pipit Ball, Cheyanne Manuel, Riella Ann Ichiuo, Joseph Tudela, Angel San Nicolas, Raymond Santos, Jason Limes, Lowell Cristobal, Joey Colisao, Emmanuel Aquino, Leonardo Apelo Jr., Antonette Labausa, and David Barnhouse Jr.

Weightlifting handed Team NMI 11 gold medals, 10 silver, and two bronze.

The CNMI Baseball National Team that won gold in the penultimate day of the Mini Games included Josh Jones, J.P. Sablan, Franko Nakamura, Lorenzo Sebaklim, Jacob Babauta, Ben Jones Jr., Tyrone Omar, Anthony Tenorio, Juan Iguel, Byron Kaipat, Darion Jones, Shane Yamada, Diego Camacho, A.J. Lizama, Lamarc Iguel, Nokki Saralu, Dennis Cabrera, Jerald Cabrera, Patrick Alepuyo, and Keoni Lizama.

The CNMI Tennis National Team, which provided three gold medals and one bronze was made up of Colin Sinclair, Colin Ramsey, Bobby Cruz, Robbie Schorr, Hyejin Elliott Asia Raulerson, Maria Isabel Heras, and Serin Chung.

Each of the nine sports federations received $1,000 from Tan Holdings.

NMSA president Jerry Tan thanked all the nine teams that played in the Mini Games. “We wanted to recognize your preparation also. Winning medals is one thing, but to prepare for participating in games around our region—it’s not easy.

He added, “It’s a collective effort by [all] of you. We did a great job—we were the best host. Team NMI performed exceptionally well.”

He also acknowledged that in 2022, not only did the NMI host its first ever Mini Games and did an exceptional job, the NMI athletes also traveled to compete in other countries for their respective sports. 

The event was sponsored by the TSL Foundation led by executive director Merlie Tolentino.

Results of the other NMSA Sports Banquet awards will come out in the next issues of Saipan Tribune.

Leigh Gases
Leigh Gases is the youngest reporter of Saipan Tribune and primarily covers community related news, but she also handles the utilities, education, municipal, and veterans beats. Contact Leigh at leigh_gases@saipantribune.com.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.