NMTI board of directors reconvened

Posted on Dec 03 2020


The Northern Marianas Technical Institute’s board of directors met yesterday at the NMTI facility in Lower Base, after getting a clarification that they are still the governing board of the trade school.

NMTI board chair John Gonzales said that, pursuant to the Office of the Attorney General’s opinion, NMTI’s board of trustees cannot organize until the committee of transition submits its report to the current board of directors, so the current members can review, adopt, and transmit the report to the board of trustees.

The NMTI committee of transition will meet today, Dec. 3, at the Hyatt Regency Saipan in Garapan at 10am, to review and adopt the report of transition. After the committee of transition reviews and adopts the reports they will then present it to the board of directors next Wednesday at their board meeting.

When they submit the report to the board of trustees, the board of trustees will then transmit them to Gov. Ralph DLG Torres and the Legislature.

Prior to the reassembly of the board of directors, NMTI chief executive officer Agnes McPhetres said, “He [Attorney General Edward Manibusan] said to me that Public Law 20-92 is still honoring the board of directors as the governance [body] of NMTI…until the report is completed and transmitted to the governor, and the leadership in the House and Senate, so it means that the board of directors is really governing the institution,” said McPhetres.

With this, McPhetres said that she and her staff are relieved to finally see a clearer picture of where they stand.

In a previous article on Saipan Tribune, the NMTI board of directors agreed unanimously last Jan. 3 to move forward with the motion to dissolve the board of directors to make room for the board of trustees pursuant to the law that recognized NMTI as a government institution.

Two members of the outgoing board that transitioned into the board of trustees are Richard P. Kautz Jr. and Mario Valentino. The outgoing board members who will not make the transition into the board of trustees are John Gonzales, Annie G. Hayes, and Joseph Torres.

The new board of trustees that was established last March 12 is composed of Irene Holl, Carmelita Faisao, Ray Pangelinan, Richard P. Kautz Jr., Mario Valentino, Catherine Attao, and Deron Mendiola.

Justine Nauta
Justine Nauta is Saipan Tribune's community and health reporter and has covered a wide range of news beats, including the Northern Marianas College and Commonwealth Health Care Corp. She's currently pursuing a bachelor’s degree in Rehabilitation and Human Services at NMC.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.