Nominations being accepted for the ninth Bridge of Light Award


To honor and thank those who have helped the CNMI community, the Northern Marianas Coalition Against Domestic & Sexual Violence is now seeking nominations for its Bridge of Light Award.

This is the ninth year NMCADSV will be honoring one extraordinary individual in the CNMI who has worked diligently to provide safety for the community, to work to end domestic violence and sexual assault, and to be a “Bridge of Light” for victims and survivors in the CNMI.

Those eligible for the award include service providers, first responders, representatives, or volunteers at one or more eligible agencies, organizations or offices in the CNMI. The nominee must have been employed/volunteered for a minimum of one year and/or have demonstrated one or more extraordinary accomplishments to help sustain the movement. The nominee must also show dedication and effort in the areas of leadership, service, advocacy for victims, prevention, community education or mobilization, and resource development.

Nominations may be submitted by a victim or survivor; a family member or friend of a victim or survivor; a member, representative, and/or volunteer of NMCADSV; or an employee, representative, and/or volunteer at eligible CNMI agencies, organizations, or offices. To verify if an agency, organization, or office may nominate, contact NMCADSV at (670) 234-3878 or email

Nominations may be submitted online through The deadline to submit a completed nomination form is 11:59pm on Friday, Sept. 10, 2021.

It is strongly encouraged that those nominating be as detailed and thorough as possible on the form to show why their nominee is deserving of the award. Those evaluating nominations will consider nominees based only on the information provided.

The recipient of the 2021 Bridge of Light Award will be announced during the Domestic Violence Awareness Month proclamation signing ceremony. The award recipient will also be presented with the opportunity to attend a retreat or training courtesy of NMCADSV, among other self-care prizes.

Past recipients include Department of Public Safety officer Flora Aguon, Karidat Social Services executive director Lauri B. Ogumoro, Division of Youth Services social worker Mildred W. Sikebert, Karidat Social Services’ counselor Elaine C. Dela Cruz, Ayuda Network Inc. executive director Diana Camacho, the Attorney General Office’s victim advocate John Aguon, Division of Youth Services director Vivian T. Sablan, and, most recently, DPS officer Rose Taman Rios.

For additional information or inquiries, contact the coalition at (670) 234-3878 or email (PR)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.