Nominations open for businesswoman award


MAITE, Guam—First Hawaiian Bank and Guam Business magazine are seeking nominations for the 12th Annual Businesswoman of the Year Maga’håga Award. Nominees must be residents of Guam or the Northern Mariana Islands.

Nominees should meet the following criteria: a businesswoman who has made a significant difference in her industry through her organization or her business, has contributed to her community, is a leading representative of her profession or field, and displays the best qualities of one in business.

Nominations must be submitted by Feb. 13.

The winner will be announced at the Businesswoman of the Year Gala on April 29 at the Hyatt Regency Guam. The gala is also a fundraiser for the Businesswoman of the Year scholarship program. The scholarships, open to both full-time and part-time college students, are intended to promote higher education by providing financial assistance to University of Guam, Guam Community College, or Northern Marianas College students pursuing professional careers in business or a related field.

The Businesswoman of the Year Maga’håga award recipient on Saipan is Shirley Ann T. Sablan, executive vice president and general manager of Pacifica Insurance Underwriters Inc. (2014).

To submit a nomination, contact Joy White, assistant editor, Guam Business magazine at (671) 649-0883 ext. 125 or, or Barbie Jane Agahan, assistant advertising manager, First Hawaiian Bank at (671) 475-7908 or

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.