Nominees for Executive of the Year announced


BARRIGADA, Guam—Guam Business Magazine is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2019 Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year. The annual Executive of the Year award program recognizes executives who have made outstanding contributions to the business communities of Micronesia and who have raised the bar in their fields.

The nominees are:

• Richard Chan, president, Archway Inc., which does business as Infusion Coffee & Tea, I Love Guam, and The Beverage Source
Dr. Michael W. Cruz, president and CEO, Guam Regional Medical City

• Dean Huntsman, General Manager, Dusit Thani Guam Resort

• Annmarie T. Muna, president and general manager, AM Insurance

• James I. Oehlerking, CEO, PTI Pacifica, which does business as IT&E

• John R. Onedera, country managing partner, Ernst and Young LLP

• Ryan F. Torres, general manager of Macy’s Guam

The winner will be revealed at the Executive of the Year award gala on Jan. 11, 2020 at the Hyatt Regency Guam, together with the release of the January-February 2020 issue of Guam Business Magazine, which will feature a commissioned portrait of the winner on the cover.

Proceeds from the gala will benefit the Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross. Tickets are available for $200 per person and may be purchased from Chita A. Blaise, CEO of the American Red Cross, by calling (671) 472-6217 or by emailing

Past Executive of the Year recipients include Robert H. Jones of Triple J Enterprises Inc. (1983); John M. Borlas of IT&E Overseas Inc. (1984); Philip J. Flores of BankPacific (1985); Doris Flores Brooks of the Office of Public Accountability (1986); Mark V. Pangilinan of M.V. Pangelinan Enterprises Inc. (1987); Allen A. Pickens of Tax-Aide (1988); the late T. Roy Sullivan of Jones & Guerrero Co. (1989); Kurt S. Moylan of Moylan’s Insurance (1990); the late Akira “Mike” Baba of Baba Corp. (1991); Paul M. Calvo of Calvo Enterprises Inc. (1992); Antoinette D. Sanford of Sanford Technology Group (1993); the late Kenneth T. Jones of Jones & Guerrero Co. (1994); the late Edward M. Calvo of Calvo Enterprises Inc. (1995); L. Carl Peterson of Money Resources Inc. (1996); William R. Thompson (1997) of Atkins Kroll Inc.; the late John K. Lee of First Hawaiian Bank (1998); the late Henry L. Schnabel of Calvo’s Insurance Underwriters (1999); Marian Aldan-Pierce of DFS Saipan (2000); Manfred H. Pieper of Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia (2001); Thomas G. Ahillen of Asia Pacific Solutions LLC (2002); Juan T. Guerrero of Herman’s Modern Bakery Inc. (2003); Joseph M. Crisostomo of Cars Plus LLC, Cycles Plus and Payless Car Rental (2004); Joseph “Jerry” Kramer of Pacific International Inc. (2004); David M. Sablan of Century Group of Companies (2005); the late Alfred C. Ysrael of Tanota Partners (2006); Lee P. Webber of MDA Guam (2007); Laura-Lynn V. Dacanay of First Hawaiian Bank (2008); Jerry Cho Yee Tan of Tan Holdings Inc. (2009); Lourdes A. “Lou” Leon Guerrero of Bank of Guam (2010); Jay R. Shedd of IT&E (2011); Jerrold C. Johnson of Hawaiian Rock Products (2012); George Chiu of Tan Holdings (2013); Norman T. Tenorio of Joeten Enterprises Inc., Pacifica Insurance Underwriters Inc., Tropical Instant Press Inc., Saipan Shipping Co., Saipan Stevedore and Advance Carrier (2014); Jeffrey B. Jones of Triple J Enterprises Inc. (2015); Jose C. “Joe” Ayuyu of McDonald’s of Guam and Saipan, RJ Corp. and RJ Guam LLC (2016); Leonard K. Kaae Sr., senior vice president and general manager, Black Construction Corp. (2017); and Bernadette N. Valencia, vice president and general manager of for Micronesia and Okinawa, Matson Navigation Inc. (2018).

For additional information or inquiries, contact Steve Graff, managing editor of Guam Business Magazine at (671) 649-0883 ext. 126 or email (PR)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.