Omelau’s 8 goals top M-League


Kanoa Football Club’s Andruw Omelau, right, seen here battling the ball against TanHoldings Football Club’s Taka Borja during a game in a youth league at the NMI Soccer Training Center in Koblerville, leads Division A of the 2020 Spring Men’s M-League in the most goals scored so far early in the season. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Kanoa Football Club striker Andruw Omelau has scored the most goals early in the 2020 Spring Men’s M-League.

Omelau earned eight goals after three games in Division A of the league, which has been suspended since mid last month due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Marianas High School student debuted in the league with a pair of goals in their 4-7 loss to TanHoldings and then battled back big time in Kanoa’s second game after delivering five in their 10-6 triumph over Victory. In their last match before the league was halted, Omelau was among the three Kanoa players who hit the board in their 3-0 win against the Old B Bank.

Behind Omelau by just two goals is TanHoldings Football Club’s Martin Jambor. The TanHoldings player moved up to second place after firing five goals in their 17-0 demolition of Victory. Earlier in the opening week of the league, Jambor made one goal in their win over Kanoa.

Jambor’s teammate, John Michael Rojas, is ranked No. 3 in the most goals scored so far this season after posting four, three of them came in their season-debut victory versus Kanoa.

Paire’s Joe Miller and Victory’s Bada Lee have three goals apiece to join Omelau and company in the battle for the Golden Boot award in Division A.

In Division B, Shirley’s Football Club’s Irish Pagarao is ahead with her five goals.

Pagarao leads her teammate, Mingguang Xing, Matansa Football Club’s Amzad Khan, and the CNMI Women’s National Team’s Jannah Casarino, who have two goals each.

Pagarao registered twin goals in their 4-1 win over Matansa during the league’s opening week, had one in their match opposite the WNT (3-3), and made two in their shutout victory against the Island Star.

With Pagarao’s five goals, Shirley’s leads the division in the most goals scored (nine) and is followed by Island Star (four), Matansa (three), and WNT (three).

In Division A, Kanoa has gained 17 goals to pace the unbeaten TanHoldings (14), while Victory has tallied eight, and All Blue and Paire have seven each. The Old Bank has only scored two goals this season.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.