Pangelinan named Young Professional of the Year

The Saipan Young Professionals Committee presents certificates of recognition to Zach Johnson, left, and Kristal Johnson. (Contributed Photo)

The Saipan Young Professionals Committee presents certificates of recognition to Zach Johnson, left, and Kristal Johnson. (Contributed Photo)

The Saipan Young Professionals Committee has named Janel V. Pangelinan of Pacifica Insurance Underwriters, Inc. as the 2016 Saipan Young Professional of the Year.

The announcement was made at the SYP’s “Seas’n Greetings” Christmas party held on Thursday, Dec. 15, at the Barefoot Beach Bar of Kanoa Resort.

SYP recognized Pangelinan’s outstanding leadership and dedication to serving the community both personally and professionally.

Pangelinan is mother of four. While attending the Northern Marianas College from 2009 to 2011, she was inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. The following semester, she was sworn in as an officer. For the duration of her studies at NMC, she worked at the Adult Basic Education department as a tutor. In 2011, she became part of Pacifica Insurance Underwriters, Inc. She started as an underwriter, became head of the broker department, and assisted with marketing and networking. In addition, she has conducted presentations for many government agencies introducing their health insurance plan, as well as career presentations and class observations in relation to the insurance industry.

Janel V. Pangelinan

Janel V. Pangelinan

Pangelinan is currently a claims examiner at Pacifica Insurance. She is a co-chair of the Events Committee of the Saipan Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Marianas Professionals Organization. She also participates in various volunteer efforts and programs with her employer.

SYP also honored other outstanding members: Zachariah Johnson (PSS), Kristal Johnson (PSS), Emanuel Borja (Hofschneider Engineering), and Jacqueline Fujihira (Imperial Pacific).

The 2016 Saipan Young Professional Rookie of the Year award went to N15 Architects’ Lester John Babauta, who joined the committee early this year.

SYP mentors Donna Krum (Friends First Marketing/Paradise Dental Center), Tyrell Pauling (Hyatt Regency Saipan), and Beau Tomokane (Delta Air Lines), were also recognized with a certificate of appreciation from SYP.

“Throughout the year, the Saipan Young Professionals have made efforts to create and build relationship with our Chamber members. We have had the privilege of working with our mentors and appreciate them for lending their expertise and resources to advance our organization,” said one SYP member.

Paradise Dental Center as well as Pacifica Insurance Underwriters, Inc. were also recognized for hosting the SYP networking events. The Committee encourages young professionals to join.

The SYP “Seas’n Greetings” party featured fun games, entertainment, raffle prize drawings and the announcement of the 2016 Saipan Young Professional Awards. The Committee also teamed up with Karidat Social Services, donating toys for their “Toys 4 Tots” drive. Their donation will be made to the organization within this week.

SYP thanks its donors: Let’s Go Tours, Pena House, Tribe Marianas, 670 Rocksteady Shop, Coral Ocean Point, Oleai Beach Bar, Java Joes, KFS, Swirls, Paradise Dental Center, Kanoa Resort, Fiesta Resort & Spa, Shirley’s Coffee Shop, and The Shack.

For more information on the Committee, visit their Facebook Page at or contact the Saipan Chamber of Commerce at 234-7150. (SYP)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.