Ports officer Degracia is this year’s Top Gun


Manuel Degracia, a police officer with the Commonwealth Ports Authority, is this year’s Top Gun champion after defeating 25 other local and federal law enforcers in the individual competition.

Of the 26 individual shooters, 10 got perfect 20 scores, but Degracia emerged the fastest with his blistering time of 3 minutes and 26 seconds to capture the Top Gun title.

Degracia said he has been joining the Top Gun competition the past eight years and it’s amazing to finally become the Top Gun.

He prepared for this year’s competition by focusing on the fundamentals of shooting.

“We’ve got good instructors in our department,” said Degracia during the Public Safety Awareness banquet held at the Minachom Atdao Pavilion in Susupe Wednesday night. Degracia received a trophy and $1,000.

Acting Department of Public Safety spokesman Sgt. Jason Tarkong came second with his time of 3 minutes and 30 seconds. He was awarded a trophy and $750. Tarkong also won the Top Gun championship several years ago.

CPA officer Juan Rebuenog landed third with his time of 3 minutes and 48 seconds. He got a trophy and $500. Rebuenog won the Top Gun contest last year and in 2012.

In the team competition, the CNMI K-9 Unit emerged champion by defeating 13 other teams with their best time of 3 minutes and 30 seconds.

The CNMI K-9 Unit team was composed of Customs officers Shawn Dela Cruz, Ryan Kikku, and Zachary Sasamoto and DPS police officer Anthony Alepuyo.

Team FSU or the “narcotics boys,” led by Paul Ogumoro, got second place with their time of 4 minutes and 43 seconds.

CPA 1 landed third with a time of 4 minutes and 50 seconds. CPA won last year’s team competition.

Only three participated in the female individual Top Gun category.

DPS officer Maridel Camacho got first place, Liana Quitugua of the Department of Corrections was second, and DPS officer Rhonda John landed in third.

CPA ports officer Melvin Manahane, who chairs the event with police officer David Hosono, said this year is the biggest; they got the most number of shooters.

Last year, there were 21 individual shooters and eight teams.

“In Top Gun history, 2017 brought in the most individual shooters and teams,” Manahane said.

Gov. Ralph DLG Torres and Lt. Gov. Victor Hocog donated cash prizes for the individual competition.

Meanwhile, winners in other sports competitions were also awarded on Wednesday.

The champions were DPS Patrol in basketball, CPA in volleyball, DPS special programs in softball, and CPA 1 in bowling. CNMI Customs was declared cook-off champion.

Israel Deleon of Homeland Security and Emergency Management was awarded the highest individual scorer in bowling.

CNMI Customs Lt. Robert Reyes was awarded with the biggest catch, total weight, and most variety in the fishing derby.

CPA was the 2017 overall winner, having won the most number of games.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at ferdie_delatorre@Saipantribune.com

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.