• Mobil Smiles Reward

Rayphand lands first in multiple qualifiers


Saipan International School’s Jude Rayphand, far left, managed a spot in the 2021 Public School System All Schools Track and Field Championship this weekend after placing first in multiple qualifiers in the 9U boys division. (Mark Rabago)

Saipan International School’s Jude Rayphand managed a spot in the 2021 Public School System All Schools Track and Field Championship this weekend after placing first in multiple qualifiers in the 9U boys division.

Rayphand recorded the fastest times for the 100m and the 200m. In the 100m, he submitted a time of 16:53 and in the 200m, he came in at 37:06.

For the 9U boys 100m championships, Rayphand will go up against fellow Gecko Quido Jambor, Koblerville Elementary School’s Tatum Jones, Prince Romolor, Ashton Manalo, and Jiro Quindoza of William S. Reyes.

In the 200m championships, Rayphand’s competitors will be Jambor and KES’ Jeffrey Pangelinan, Jayton DelaCruz, Jones, and Romolor.

Also prevailing in other qualifiers were Pangelinan and Jones of KES, WSR’s Landin Reyes and Damian Sablan, Agape Christian School’s Danny Cheng, and Jambor.

Pangelinan recorded the fastest time overall in the 60m with a time of 10:07. He will go head-to-head with fellow Umang Jones and Jayton DelaCruz, and Vaiava Mercado, Rayphand, and Jambor of SIS.

For the 400m, Landin Reyes ranked first overall with a time of 1:33 followed closely by schoolmate John Paul Binghit, and Saipan Community School’s Andre Guerrero. They will be joined by Jiro Quindoza, Leon Avery Galarse of Oleai Elementary School, Jayton DelaCruz, Zana Palacios, and Ashton Manalo of KES, and Marq Hernandez of WSR.

Meanwhile, Agape’s Danny Cheng placed first overall in the 800m championship qualifier with a time of 3:11 and will face off against schoolmates Reyviel Escarlan, Cai Benjamin, and Daniel Huang, SIS’ Rayphand, Jambor, Gabriel Walsch, and Brilliant Star School’s Evan Poole and Damien Camacho.

Jambor holds the lead in the 1,500m championship qualifier with a time of 7:31 and will battle it out in the championships with fellow Geckos Gabriel Walsh, Jake and Dean Duenas, Tristan Bertoncini, Agape’s Cai Benjamin, Daniel Huang, and BSS’ Damien Camacho and Evan Poole.

Taking first place with the farthest distance in the long jump was Tatum Jones of KES with a distance of 3.55m. He will challenge Daniel Huang of ACS, SIS’ Jambor, IMS’ Jackson Koning, Jayvan DelaCruz of KES, and Kastle Haberman of Saipan Community School in the championships.

Damian Sablan dominated the softball throw with a distance of 27.40m and will vie for the championship title against Leon Avery Galarse and Liam Sablan from OES, and KES’ Zanthony Palacios, Justo Quitigua, and Tatum Jones.

The two-day championship event will take place on May 7 and May 8 at the Oleai Track and Field.

The May 7 championships will start at 3pm and is expected to conclude at around 6pm and will continue on to the next day, May 8, from 8am to around 11am.

The Public School System All Schools Track and Field Championship is being held in coordination with Northern Marianas Athletics.

Kimberly B. Esmores | Reporter
Kimberly Albiso Bautista has covered a wide range of news beats, including the community, housing, crime, and more. She now covers sports for the Saipan Tribune. Contact her at kimberly_bautista@saipantribune.com.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.