Red Cross to honor ‘volunteer heroes’


The American Red Cross-Pacific Islands Region will honor 16 individuals from across the islands for their exemplary volunteer work at their Heroes Recognition Event to be held virtually on Sunday March 27, 2022. These volunteers have gone above and beyond in their roles contributing to the humanitarian mission of the Red Cross.


Volunteers from the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and Hawaii have been selected by their fellow volunteers or distinguished by their volunteer time to receive this honor.

Those who will be recognized as Volunteers of the Year include Mable Glenn of the Northern Mariana Islands, Lisa Morales as Kauai Volunteer of the Year, Flinn Curren as Oahu Volunteer of the Year, Loren Lapow as Maui Volunteer of the Year, Cyndi Davies-Wong as Hawaii Island Volunteer of the Year, Marcos Fong of Guam, and Claire Cappelle of American Samoa.


The Mission Heroes awardees are Richard Defan (Saipan), Andrei Umali (Maui), Warren White (Hawaii Island), Dan Cogar (Guam), Dr. Alyssa Aguilar (Oahu), Caleb Alarcon (Oahu), and Dr. Karen Burmeister (Oahu).

The Dedicated Deployer (Disaster Response) will go to John Decker, while the award for Most Volunteer Hours Logged will go to Reziel Alarcon. (PR, Saipan Tribune)

Saipan Tribune

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.