Rematch in the works in Shirley’s tourney

Ferdie Arago leaps for a return during one of his singles games in the Shirley’s Badminton Classic early this month at the TSL Sports Complex. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Ferdie Arago leaps for a return during one of his singles games in the Shirley’s Badminton Classic early this month at the TSL Sports Complex. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

A rematch is brewing in the men’s A singles event in the 2014 Shirley’s Badminton Classic after last year’s finalist Andreau Galvez and Ferdie Arago secured semis berths in the division.

Galvez took the first semis ticket in Group B of the men’s A singles after completing the elimination round games weekend and earning a 4-0 record. Arago, on the other hand, clinched a semis seat in Group A with his 3-1 record. Arago and Galvez fought in the men’s A singles finals last year with the latter winning the championship match, 21-14, 21-15.

This year, Macoi Aguda hopes to play the spoiler;s role in the Galvez-Arago finale, as the former bagged the third semis slot in the division with his 2-2 record in the elimination round. Jerry Hibi and Jordan Pangilinan will battle for the fourth and last semis ticket.

Meanwhile, in the men’s B and C singles categories, only Shintaro and Jeremi Montenejo are assured of semis berths in their respective divisions. Shintaro topped Group B of the men’s B singles to advance to the next round, while Montenejo ruled Group C of the men’s C singles with his 4-0 slate to make it to the semis. A.J. Ortega and Toshiaki will play in a knockout game in Group B to determine the qualifier in the group, while Groups A and D still have to finalize their standings.

In the women’s singles, all four players in Class A and C will march into the semis, while only one player in the Class B dropped out of contention. Defending champion Hannah Choi, Janelle Pangilinan, Malou Malasarte, and Lani Bartolome will battle for the Class A crown, while Patricia Abantao, Vilma Reyes, Roxe Lazaro, and Gigi Zapanta will slug it out in Class C. In Class B, Nicole Malasarte, Rowena Sison, Dianne Francisco, and Windy Fernandez took semis berths, while Toshiko Obata was eliminated.

In the doubles, only Sam Jones and Glenn Bluutjens are assured of a semis seat in Class A with their 3-0 record, while Class B’s semis cast were already completed last week with Young Son Yu and Jongmin Mee, Eric Pena and Alvin Alvarez, Ezekiel Macario and Deether Edralin, and Pastor Pang and Oh Im Bog marching into the playoffs.

Class C’s semifinalists were also determined after last weekend’s matches with Ariel Jinang and Ray Musada leading the qualifiers. Joining them are Patrick Fernandez and Leo Su, Taeho Kim and Tommy Kim and John Cano and Montenejo.

In the women’s doubles, Class A, only Bartolome and Windy Fernandez have sealed a spot to the next round, while in Class B, three pairs have qualified—Loyda Ito and Shirley Kim, Cheng Saturno and Lucelle Lampera, and Francisco and Alma Ortega. In the Class C, Nicole Malasarte and Patricia Abantao headed the Final Four cast, which also includes Reyes and Baby Banadera, Lazaro and Lanni Santos, and Emily Vargas and Judy Mendieta.

In the 35-and-above division, three teams have notched semis tickets. In the men’s division, Oh and Yu and Chris Hilario and Patrick Fernandez marched into the next round after posting 3-0 records, while in the women’s division Loyda Ito and Gigi Zapanta advanced after finishing pool play with a 4-0 card.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.