Ridin’Darrty, 3 others open title bids with wins


Members of the Naked Fish Ridin’Darrty were victorious in their first game in the A Division of the Bud Light-Saipan Electronic Darts Association Winter/Spring Season.
(Contributed Photo)

Naked Fish Ridin’Darrty and three others started their respective title campaigns in the A Division of the Bud Light-Saipan Electronic Darts Association Winter/Spring season on a high note

The Ridin’Dartty, last season’s runner-up to the Route 33 Mafia, was a rude host against the Oleai A No Fear in completing an 11-6 decision in one of the four matches held in separate bars on the island.

Daryl “Diesel” Brennan opened up the Ridin’Darrty’s lopsided win by beating Chris “Cup Cake” Omnes in the Singles event to show that the Naked Fish-backed squad is all business.

Charlie Peters, James “Got Plenty” Benavente, and Boom “Bang” Cruz duplicated Brennan’s feat against Ben “Terrible” Aguon, Dhan “Daman” Mateo, and Paul “The Flash” Quizon to complete the Ridin’Darrty’s sweep of the first Singles 501 matches.

Peters and Carter “Ace” Calma made it 5-0 after downing the pair of Mateo and Jarvin “Stinger” Mendiola in their Partners Crazy Cricket contest.

No Fear earned their first win after Omnes and Aguon defeated Benavente and June “Awesome” Nunez in the other Partners match up.

From there, No Fear’s wins came in trickles with Cruz sealing the victory for the Ridin’Darrty with another win over Bobby Castro in one of the four games played in the Singles Regular Cricket event.

However, all 17 matches should be played since every win and loss will be counted on the standings.

The Doro’s Snipers defeated the 6JMS Predators, 10-7, while the latter’s sister squad, the 101 Proofers, was victorious against the Doro’s Hunters.

The 6JMS Mafia squeezed out a 9-8 win over the Jokers 81 Shockers with the quartet of Ray “Udas’ Cepeda, Gilbert Gatmaitan, Alfred Hocog, and Noel Unay securing the win in the Team 1001 event.

Cepeda, Gatmaitan, Hocog, and Unay got the better of the Shockers’ Darrol “Misogee” Atalig, Kevin “K.J.” Villagomez, Jun “Shocker” Santos, and George Sablan.

Games in the Tuesday B were being played at press time, while the Masters division will start with its matches today along with the Chichirika C and Kingfisher C. The Fanihi and Flame Tree divisions will begin their respective matches tomorrow.

Only the A Division will be played every Monday after there were no team that fielded in the Ladies.

Jon Perez | Reporter
Jon Perez began his writing career as a sports reporter in the Philippines where he has covered local and international events. He became a news writer when he joined media network ABS-CBN. He joined the weekly DAWN, University of the East’s student newspaper, while in college.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.