Santos is Fil-Taga September winner

Posted on Sep 29 2022

Ronnie Santos attributes his win in the Fil-Taga Golfers Association Ace of the Month Tournament last Saturday to pure luck. (CONTRIBUTED PHOTO)

Ronnie Santos topped the Fil-Taga Golfers Association Ace of the Month Tournament held last Saturday, Sept. 24, at the Coral Ocean Point Golf Course in Obyan.

The 59-year-old golfer fired a net 78 to win the monthly championship. He started out strong with a gross of 43 in the first nine holes before shooting a 46 in the back nine. He wound up with a gross of 89, which minus his 16 handicap, gave him the net score to beat for the September ace.

The Taytay, Rizal in the Philippines native, who has been playing golf for 15 years, said he won the tournament last Saturday because of pure luck, especially in the first nine holes of the contest.

Tom Palikkun actually finished tied with Santos but lost in a scorecard tiebreak. The Septmeber runner-up came away with his net 73 built around a gross of 81 (39-42) and a handicap of 8.

Ruben Avendano took third place after firing a 76 net. He shot a 48 in the first nine holes and a 47 in the back for a gross of 95 for the 19-handicapper.

Avendano actually edged Hak Chon Bae for the podium finish after Bae also carded a 76 following a 49-44 in the first and last nine holes to finish with a gross of 93. He held a handicap of 17.

Ed Varias and Das Krishnan finished with lower scores than the Top 4 for September. However, since they already won in previous monthly competitions, they were ineligible for the September award.

Varias, the May winner, finished with a 71 net (45-45, 90 gross, 19 handicap), while Krishnan, last month’s winner, scored a 72 net (45-39, 84 gross, 12 handicap).

Other Fil-Taga members that took part in the Fil-Taga monthly competition were February winner Lito Mendoza (net 77), Albert Pajarillaga (net 78), and Jhun Cayetano (net 81). Adony Matutino also played but shot a pre-handicap score of 103 as he’s still establishing his handicap.

The par 3 winners last Saturday were Krishnan (thrice) and Pallikun. 

Mark Rabago | Associate Editor
Mark Rabago is the Associate Editor of Saipan Tribune. Contact him at
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.