SBA to open new season in February


Brannon’s Jam Shooters players pose with their Budweiser Cup trophies in the Thursday division during the awards banquet for the 2018 SBA Open 8-Ball League held last Oct. 21 at the Charley’s Cabaret of Pacific Islands Club. (Roby Pamintuan)

The Saipan Billiards Association is eyeing to kick off the 2019 season in February after completing the 2018 competition last October.

Pacific Amusement, Inc.’s Warlee Ellama said registration for the 2019 SBA Budweiser Open 8-Ball League is now open for both the Tuesday and Thursday divisions. He added that the exact dates of the opening will be announced once SBA has compiled the teams that will be playing in the two categories. Interested players who want to sign up for the 2019 season must be 21 years or older. Registration fees are $30/per player for the first team they sign up with, followed by $5 for each additional squad. Sponsors fee is $50 per team. Each squad is allowed to have a minimum of 4 players and maximum of 8.

“Players interested in joining the 2019 season of the SBA Open 8-Ball League can register online at or in person at our office in Middle Road, next to Brabu Pharmacy,” said Ellama, who is the league secretary.

Meanwhile, SBA capped the 2018 season with an awards banquet held last Oct. 21 at the Charley’s Cabaret of Pacific Islands Club. Spirits were high at the awards ceremony, as league participants, their families, and sponsors gathered to celebrate both individual and team accomplishments, as well as the success of the league.

The highly coveted Budweiser Cup championship trophy was awarded to 9 Eleven Wildboyz for the Tuesday League, while Brannon’s Jam Shooters had the honor of hoisting the contested hardware for the Thursday League.

In the regular season, Brannon’s Docomo Hustlers, 9 Eleven Straight Black Ball, and IT&E Amari’s Destroyers rounded out the Top 3 finishers in the Tuesday League, while IT&E Amari’s Homeboys, 9 Eleven 8 Black Ball, and Brannon’s Jam Shooters made it to the podium in the Thursday League.

For the individual awards, the Finals Most Valuable Player trophies went to Brannons Docomo Hustlers’ Rowel Mariano (Tuesday League) and IT&E Amari’s Homeboyz’s Cesar Sangalang (Thursday League). Mariano also took the regular season MVP in the Tuesday League, sharing the honors with 9 Eleven Marianas Water’s Jerry Soriano, while 9 Eleven MJD Warriors’ Roel Barretto got the similar award in the Thursday League.

Completing the list of individual awardees were Top Gun winners Mervin Sahagun of 9 Eleven Straight Black Ball and Rey Hermogenes of 9 Eleven 8 Black Ball for the Tuesday and Thursday divisions, respectively, and Rookie of the Year Tata Hamoy of 9 Eleven Straight Black Ball and Jay Torres of the VFW Assasins.

SBA also handed out special awards (sportsmanship) with Brannon’s 670 Builders and VFW Assassins winning in the Tuesday and Thursday divisions, while MARPAC and Sands Bar were given plaques of appreciation for their support to the league.

Roby N. Pamintuan

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.