Schmidt brings home regular season MVP, 4 other awards


TanHoldings’ Douglas Schmidt takes off for an easy layup during their regular season game against Docomo in the JEM/Mobil caging last month at the Gillette Multipurpose Gymnasium. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

TanHoldings’ Douglas Schmidt did not play in their title-clinching 91-88 win in Game 3 over Mariana Resort, but he had done so much in the previous games that were enough to earn him five individual awards in the JEM Company Ltd./Mobil Customer Appreciation Basketball League.

Schmidt was named the regular season MVP and added the Rookie of the Year, Best in Steals, Defensive Player, and Mythical Five awards to his collection. The TanHoldings wingman gave his team a perfect record (7-0) in the regular season as he averaged more than 20 points per game. Then in their first three games in the playoffs, he top-scored for TanHoldings to lift the eventual champion past Konstrak Builders, CUC, and McDonald’s.

In Game 1 of finals, TanHoldings fell behind by double-digits early in the match and midway in the fourth quarter, but managed to escape with a 97-94 win behind Schmidt’s 13 points in that period alone. He then played through pain due to sprain in their Game 2 loss, 80-89, but still fired 18 points. Schmidt eventually sat out in Game 3.

Despite missing its best player in Game 3, TanHoldings survived and won the finals series as several players stepped up in absence of Schmidt. One of them was Bart Demapan, who scored a game-high 26 points in the deciding Game 3. He started the series with a so-so performance (5 points in Game 1), but came out swinging in Game 2, exploding for 33 markers.

Meanwhile, Prince Factor and Jun Fidelino of the runner-up Mariana Resort joined Schmidt, Best Deal/RNV Construction’s Ronald Rueda, and McDonald’s Gil Gapor in the Mythical Five Selection.

Other individual awardees were Coca-Cola/Subway’s Michael Cabanas (Sportsmanship Award); Westco’s Joey Ejercito and Coca-Cola/Subway’s Jojo Felix (Executives of the Year); Mariana Resort’s Frank Lifoifoi (Sixth Man of the Year), Melvin Sakisat (Best in 3-Points), and Factor (Best in Blocks); McDonald’s Sherwin Gaspar (Most Improved Player); Best Deal/RNV’s Andy Mortos (Best in Rebounds), and TanHoldings’ Elmer Esdrelon (Best in Assists).

Players and team officials present at the awards ceremony received their trophies from JEM Company LTD owners Edward and Jovita Flores.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.