Search on for NMI Sports HoF inductees

Posted on Dec 22 2021
Chris Nelson and Jerry Ayuyu

In this 2020 file photo, Chris Nelson, left, and Jerry Ayuyu are all smiles as they are enshrined into the CNMI Sports Hall of Fame during the Northern Marianas Sports Association Annual Banquet at the Hibiscus Hall of the Fiesta Resort & Spa Saipan. (ROSELYN B. MONROYO)

The Northern Marianas Sports Association is now accepting nominations for the NMI Sports Hall of Fame, Class of 2022.

Nominations are open to individuals who have earned distinction in NMI sports either as athletes or officials (coaches and administrators included). Nominees must have resided on the islands for at least 10 years and should be at least 35 years old.

NMSA-member federations, any NMI citizen, and the NMSA Hall of Fame Committee can submit nominees and nominations must be submitted with justification or rationale to

For the Class of 2022, a maximum of four individuals may be inducted—three athletes and one official. The NMI Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2022 will be enshrined at the NMSA Sports Banquet in March next year. Deadline for submission of nominations is on Jan. 31, 2022.

So far, the NMSA has enshrined 40 individuals into the elite group. The first inductees were the Class of 2004 led by Saipan Swim Club co-founders Bill and Jeane Sakovich. The inaugural class also included swimmer Mike Villagomez and Antonio Rogolifoi, who was enshrined to the NMI Hall of Fame as an athlete, representing basketball. The latest inductees were baseball player Chris Nelson, basketball’s Jerry Ayuyu, athletics official Louie Wabol, and basketball coach Rufino Aguon, who were enshrined in 2020. The NMSA did not hold induction and awards ceremony for athletes in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. (PR)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.