SEDA honors island’s top darters

Posted on Jan 26 2015

The Saipan Electronic Darts Association honored the island’s top dart players during its annual season-ending awards banquet yesterday at Pacific Islands Club-Saipan’s Charley’s Cabaret.

The Jokers Destroyers (Masters), Naked Fish Ridin’ Darrty (A), and Jokers Spartans (C) led the list of winners after becoming two-time champions by topping the regular season and Bud Light Cup.

Destroyers captain Gerry Galsote Sadiri Martin, Romy Intendez, Gigi Gatmaitan, Burth Dacumos, Pam Ybanez, Anie Legaspi, and Sonny Ebuen were almost unbeatable in the four-tem Masters division after collecting 165 wins out of the 255 games they played in the regular season.

The Kevin Ada-led Ridin’ Darrty duplicated the feat in the A class with the help of teammates Blaren Castro, Carter Calma, Daryl Brennan, June Nunez, James Benavente and Don Brennan.

The Spartans, who became crowd favorites during the awards ceremony with the signature AHOO! cheer popularized in the movie 300, were the third squad to rule both the regular season and Bud Light Cup.

Harlan Reyes is the Spartans’ team captain with Stanely Aldan, Dan Repeki, Toto Vergara, Joe Acosta, Jun Santos, Melvin Aldan and Steven Igisaiar as members.

The Sand Juvy Vicious Darties (Ladies), Jokers Latte Darts (Kingfisher), Naked Fish Na’Gupu (Flame Tree), Smoke Pub D’Mekaniks (Fanihi), and Jokers X-ecutioners (Tuesday) were the other regular season champions.

Placing second in the regular season were Jokers Kitty Kats (Ladies), Route33 Chagi Fan!!! (Kingfisher), Barcode Breakers (Chichirika), Naked Fish Ridin’ Darrty (Flame Tree), Sand Juvy Put3ska (Fanihi), Smoke Pub Marupok (Tuesday), Sand Juvy Predator (A), and Sand Juvy Shoot Balut (Masters).

Third place finishers were Naked Fish Dartin’ Divas (Ladies), Route33 Dart Knights (Kingfisher), Smoke Pub Snipers (Chichirika), Naked fish Oneshot (Flame Tree), Route33 Mixblood Shooters (Fanihi), Smoke Pub D’Mekaniks (Tuesday), Sand Juvy Outlawz (A), and Jokers TRA-Bull Makerz (Masters). The Jokers Disciples (Chichirika), Route33 Mixblood Shooters (Tuesday), and Sand Juvy 1010 Proofers (A) came in at fourth.

The Jokers Kitty Kats (Ladies), Route33 Dart Knights (Kingfisher), Jokers Warriors (Flame Tree), Sand Juvy Put3ska (Fanihi) and Oleai Team Fearless (Tuesday) pulled off upsets in their respective divisions to claim the Bud Light Cup crown.

The sportsmanship awardees were Smoke Pub Ladies Bull-It (Ladies), Jokers BSEA Sunsports (Kingfisher), Blue Koi’s (C), Smoke Pub Team Figan (Flame Tre), Jokers Chagi Fan (Fanihi), Oleai Team Fearless (Tuesday), Route33 Mafia (A), and Sand Juvy Shoot Balut (Masters).

Jon Perez | Reporter
Jon Perez began his writing career as a sports reporter in the Philippines where he has covered local and international events. He became a news writer when he joined media network ABS-CBN. He joined the weekly DAWN, University of the East’s student newspaper, while in college.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.