Sikkel, Campbell strike anew


Brilliant Star School’s Moshe Sikkel nears the finish line in the elementary division race during the opening leg of the 2020-2021 Public School System/Northern Marianas Athletics All Schools Cross Country Series held early this month at the CPA Airport Field. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Brilliant Star School’s Moshe Sikkel and Agape Christian School’s Jessie Campbell picked up where they left off after prevailing in their respective races in the 2020-2021 Public School System/Northern Marianas Athletics All Schools Cross Country Series last Saturday at the CPA Airport Field.

Sikkel, who ruled the opening leg of the co-ed U11 division, returned for the third and last qualifier and was unstoppable anew as he easily won Heat 1 of the elementary race. Sikkel completed the 1.1-mile run in 7:25, finishing ahead of fellow BSS student and second leg winner Akeem Edvalson (8:22) and Saipan International School’s Eliza Culp (8:29).

On Heat 2, Campbell made in three in a row after checking in at 8:17 and leading Agape’s Top 3 finish. Joey Xia (9:38) and Benjami Cai (9:39) joined Campbell in the podium in the third qualifier, while Isla Montessori School’s Oliver Pauling (9:48) and Georgia Baetge (9:51) rounded out the Top 5 in Heat 2.

Agape’s Daniel Huang (9:59), Ratul Byuya (12:48), and Alice Duan (13:18); Kagman Elementary School’s Benaiah (10:03), Harley (14:30), Americus Murphy (11:29), Jacob Santos (11:50), Kamwatie (15:00) and Teeta (15:31) Welch; Isla Montessori’s Katie Manglona (12:38), Jackson Kosing (12:39), Philip Seman (12:44), and Cooper Fong (12:49); and Mt. Carmel School’s Gabriel Hernandez (15:00) were the other finishers on Heat 2.

On Heat 1, Saipan Community School’s Jose Sablan (8:40) came in at fourth and were joined by his teammates Allie Brussel (9:17), Micaela Tenorio (11:07), Dennis Guo (14:18), and Paul James Mendoza (15:03) to the finish line.

Completing Heat 1’s finishers list were SIS’ Windsor (8:49) and Beatrice (10:28) Gross, Jake Duenas (10:36), Lucy Woo (10:54), and Yummy Peng (11:42); Brilliant Star’s Aiden (10:18) and Damien (10:35) Camacho, and LoVel Spaeth (11:21); and William S. Reyes Elementary School’s Jiro Quindoza (11:45), Marq Hernandez (11:48), Kristen Sierra (11:49), and Mateo Almada (16:17).

With the qualifiers done, organizers NMA and PSS will move ahead with the championship race for the elementary division on Dec. 4.

In the finale, schools are allowed a maximum of six runners (must have at least two boys and two girls on the team), but only the Top 4 finishers from each squad will get points that will be used to determine the team champion. Deadline for submission of rosters for the co-ed U11 division is on Nov. 25.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.