• Mobil Smiles Reward

Tenorio, Cabrera win MVP awards


The BSI Aces’ Manny Cabrera, left, receives his Finals MVP trophy from Saipan Baseball League official Ben Jones Sr. during the awards ceremony for the 2017 edition of the league last Monday at the Francisco “Tan Ko” Palacios Ballfield. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Go See Mark’s Anthony Tenorio and BSI Aces’ Manny Cabrera got the most coveted individual awards in the 2017 Saipan Baseball League.

Tenorio was awarded the regular season MVP trophy, while Cabrera took the Finals MVP plum for leading their respective teams this year. Tenorio helped GSM sweep the 14 games in the eliminations, while also topping four other categories. Cabrera, on the other hand, lifted the BSI Aces to the title-clinching Game 4 win, 2-1, against the Falcons last Monday.

The BSI Aces pitcher worked the mound in all nine innings and gave up only four hits and one run—the lowest output of the Falcons in the best-of-five championship series. Cabrera’s back-to-back defensive stops at the top of the seventh inning prevented the Falcons from tying Game 4, as he caught two straight grounders and left runners on first and second stranded. The Falcons had just scored one run in that inning to knock on the BSI Aces’ door before Cabrera slammed it with his hustle plays.

Cabrera received the Finals MVP trophy at the conclusion of the finals series, while Tenorio was not present at the awards ceremony to get his regular season MVP plum and four other trophies. Tenorio was the batting champion (.429 average) and also led the league in runs (26), triples (4), and RBIs (22).

Titanium’s Jerald Cabrera shared the batting top honors with Tenorio, while there were also ties in the homerun and ERA contests. The Falcons’ Giovannie Mira, GSM’s Pat Alepuyo, D-9ers’ E.J. Tenorio, and Titanium’s Brian Camacho each got a home run champion trophy for rounding the bases once, while the Chalan Kanoa Bears’ A.J. Lizama and GSM’s Kelvin Kapileo were named co-ERA champion with their similar 0.00 averages.

Joe Palacios faltered in the ERA race, but the Titanium ace was named the strikeout king for fanning out 57 batters. Palacios also got the Pitcher of the Year award, while his teammate Jerald Cabrera received the Catcher of the Year trophy.

Completing the individual awardees for the 2017 season of SBL were Rookie of the Year Virgil Secharmidal of the Blue Jays, Coach of the Year Mark Flores of GSM, Golden Glove Lamarc Iguel (infield) and Ben Jones (outfield) of the BSI Aces, and Manager of the Year Isidoru Camacho of the Falcons. In the team category, the Blue Jays took the Sportsmanship Award.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.