Tinian holds 3rd Annual Youth Fishing Derby


Sienna Lazaro of Tinian receives her $175 prize on July 4, 2017, for first place in the Biggest Category of the 3rd Annual Youth Shoreline Fishing Derby in the Marianas. She also received a rod and reel from Rep. Alice Igitol. From left are 16th Tinian Municipal Council chair Antonio SN Borja, Lazaro, and Municipal Council vice chair Eddie M. Hofschneider. (MVA)

Tinian hosted its 3rd Annual Youth Shoreline Fishing Derby on July 3-4, 2017, organized by the 16th Tinian Municipal Council, Tinian Mayor’s Office, and the Marianas Visitors Authority.

Thirty youngsters between the ages of 7 and 15 joined the overnight event at Kammer Beach, beginning at 5pm on July 3 and ending at 9am on July 4.

“It was really an enjoyable time for the kids at the beach,” said MVA field office supervisor Vida Borja. “Most of them ended up falling asleep and waking up later to continue casting their rods. We hope to continue to grow the derby with the participants of more young fishermen from off-island next year.”

For only $5, participants received a T-shirt, an invitation to the awards banquet, and the opportunity to vie for $2,000 in cash prizes in different categories.

The derby was divided into two age categories: ages 7-13 and ages 14-17.

The prizes for Biggest Catch went to Sienna Lazaro in the younger category for her 2.42-lb 39.2” Yellowlip Emperor and to Rudy Sablan in the older category of his .91-lb 25” Bigeye Emperor.

Most Weight prizes in the younger category went to, in descending order, John Dorick Cabrera (1.96 lbs), Kahi Cepeda (1.92 lbs), Bonnie Gonzales (1.6 lbs), Ezra Santos (1.42 lbs), and Jasper Borja Jr. (1.32 lbs).

Most Weight prizes in the older category went to, in descending order, Rudy Sablan (4.97 lbs), Joshua Masga (3.09 lbs), Bennijay Gonzales (1.38 lbs), Maleina Quitano (1.14 lbs), and Kaia Lazaro (.71 lbs).

There were repeat winners with the Most Variety. Prizes in the younger category went to, in descending order, John Dorik Cabrera (six species), Kahi Cepeda (five species), Ezra Santos (four species), Jasper Borja Jr., (three species), and Marcial Patio (two species.

Most Variety prizes in the older category went to, in descending order, Joshua Masga (eight species), Bennijay Gonzales (six species), Rudy Sablan (five species), Kaia Lazaro (three species), and Maleina Quitano (two species).

“A big thanks to the participants’ parents, volunteer watchers, weight masters and staff of the Department of Lands & Natural Resources, Department of Public Safety, the Tinian mayor’s resident directors, and Rep. Alice Igitol for making this a great event for the children,” added Borja.

The next Youth Shoreline Fishing Derby is tentatively scheduled for July 3-4, 2018. (MVA)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.