Tinian, Kagman top U9 softball throw


A U9 student competes in the softball throw yesterday during the 2016 PSS/McDonald’s All Schools Track and Field Championships held at the Hopwood Junior High School Field.
(Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Tinian Elementary School and Kagman Elementary School split the gold medals in the U9 age group’s softball throw competition in the 2016 PSS/McDonald’s All Schools Track and Field Championships yesterday at the Hopwood Junior High School Field.

Tinian’s Devyani Pandey topped the girls U9 softball throw after recording 24m in her second throw. She also had the best mark (23.97m) in the first throw and was the lone entry in her division to post at least 20m in both throws.

Joining Pandey in the podium were William S. Reyes Elementary School’s Shamaelyn Kileleman (17.06m) and Koblerville Elementary School’s (16.68m). Seven others competed in the softball throw with Brilliant Star’s Serin Chung (16.57m) ranked fourth and followed by Tinian’s Bernadette Fleming (15.44m), Brilliant Star’s Savita Sikkel (15.10m), Tinian’s Allyana Sablan (16m), and Koblerville’s Aleeza Castro (14.94m), Ashley Kasian (14.10m), and Ha’ane Salas (13.92m).

In the boys U9, Kagman’s Theytherson Willy had a 33.68m heave in his second throw to prevail against nine others. Willy, who registered 31.67 in his first throw, defeated Koblerville’s William King and WSR’s Noah Palacios. King had 30.16m in his first throw, but settled for runner-up honors after logging 25.96 in his second throw. Palacios rounded out the Top 3 after his 26.20m in the second throw.

Meanwhile, the 1,500m, 200m, and 400m runs were also held yesterday, but only the results in the boys and girls U7 and girls U9 were available at press time.

Jolash Saluta won the all-WSR race in the boys U7 1,500m run after submitting 7:14.11. He prevailed against teammates Latrell Pelisamen (9:10.99), Angelo Nabaunag (9:25.74), and John Paul Delos Reyes (9:39.33).

In the girls U7, Agape Christian School’s Angelina Quan clocked in at 10:32.51 to beat WSR’s Kiyana Karki (12:32.00). In the girls U9 age group, Agape also earned the gold medal after Elvira Zhang timed in at 7:50.59. Zhang defeated WSR’s Amanda Habal (7:54.61), Koblerville’s Jedidah Hong (8:00.00) and Ashley Kasian (8:29.55), and WSR’s Kysha Kileleman (9:08.22).

In other results, Koblerville ruled the girls U11’s 4x100m relay after the quartet of Audrey Mettao, Strala Defang, Kia Iakopo, and Madeline Sablan combined for 1:13.01. They won against Brilliant Star’s Audrey Castro, Risa Sekiguchi, and Chung, who posted 1:15.50. WSR’s Maria Nabaunag, Mercedes Cabrera, Christheana Amaro, and Yerma Camacho took the bronze medal after logging 1:16.18 in last Wednesday’s race.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.