Torres appoints Attao, Benavente to different posts


Gov. Ralph DLG Torres on Monday appointed Vincent S. Attao and Anthony T. Benavente to head separate agencies under the Executive Branch. The Senate Executive Appointment and Government Investigations Committee, chaired by Sen. Francisco Q. Cruz (R-Tinian), still needs to confirm both nominees.

Attao is appointed as the new Department of Corrections commissioner, replacing former head Georgia Cabrera, who was in an acting capacity after Lino Tenorio, the one who replaced her when she resigned, was removed last month. He was the chief parole officer prior to his appointment to Corrections.

Cabrera resigned in February when Torres asked for the courtesy resignation of all Cabinet members. She would remain as DoC’s Civil Division director.

Tenorio was immediately appointed by Torres to replace Cabrera but he only lasted more than two months. Lt. Gov. Victor B. Hocog, as acting governor, removed Tenorio from his post.

Benavente, the former Precinct 3 representative, will be heading the Department of Lands and Natural Resources, replacing Eli Cabrera, who was in an acting capacity following the death of former secretary Richard B. Seman last month.

Cabrera will go back to being the director of the Division of Parks and Recreation.

“The [lieutenant governor] and I are confident that you are qualified, and will consistently devote your time and efforts to fulfill the vital responsibilities of this office, and will be an asset to the Commonwealth. Your willingness to serve our people is most appreciated,” said Torres in their appointment letters.

Torres, in February, asked all Cabinet members to submit their courtesy resignations as part of the administration’s performance review.
Torres, on May 19, accepted the resignation of Labor Secretary Edith DeLeon Guerrero and appointed Enforcement Division director Gil San Nicolas as acting department head.

James A. Ada (Public Works), Robert H. Hunter (Community and Cultural Affairs), Larrisa Larson (Finance), Mark O. Rabauliman (Commerce), Marianne C. Teregeyo (Public Lands), Robert A. Guerrero (Public Safety), and Claudio K. Norita (Fire and Emergency Medical Services) are the other Cabinet members.

Jon Perez | Reporter
Jon Perez began his writing career as a sports reporter in the Philippines where he has covered local and international events. He became a news writer when he joined media network ABS-CBN. He joined the weekly DAWN, University of the East’s student newspaper, while in college.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.