Torres names many to key positions

Gov. Ralph DLG Torres last Friday appointed several individuals to several key positions in the CNMI, including one re-appointment to the Commonwealth Development Authority board.

Torres appointed Joaquin H. Borja to the Marianas Visitors Authority board of directors to represent Tinian, Jesus M. Tudela to the Northern Marianas College Board of Regents, Wayne K. Sanchez to the State Workforce Development board representing Tinian, and the re-appointment of Ignacio L. Perez to the CDA board of directors.

While all appointments require Senate confirmation, Sanchez’s appointment to the workforce development board does not require Senate confirmation and therefore became effective immediately.

Saying Lt. Gov. Victor B. Hocog also supports his appointment, Torres told Sanchez in his letter that he trusts that Sanchez would be a good fit for the federally mandated board focusing on workforce development of the CNMI.

“[Hocog] and I have every confidence that you will conscientiously devote your time and efforts to carry out the functions of the board as mandated by U.S. Public Law 113-128,” said Torres.

Tudela would be taking up former education commissioner Cynthia I. Deleon Guerrero’s slot on the NMC Board of Regents. His appointment is set to expire this April 10, 2018.

Borja was appointed to take up MVA board member Juan Barcinas’ slot, which expires soon.

Perez is reappointed to the CDA board. Perez was also the CDA representative to the Commonwealth Utilities Corp. board due to a past agreement between the two agencies.

Torres also announced last Friday his appointment of James Benavente and Benjamin Borja to the long stagnant Commonwealth Public Utilities Commission.

Hocog, in his capacity as acting governor, also appointed five individuals to key posts on Thursday, Feb. 7, 2018.

He appointed Joseph Hocog to the Commonwealth Council for Arts and Culture, representing Tinian.

Susan M. Perez was named to the CNMI State Behavioral Health Planning Council, representing Tinian.

Julie Sablan was appointed to the Commonwealth Library Council, representing Tinian.

Stanley Benavente was named to the Statewide Independent Living Council, while Carla A. San Nicolas was appointed to the Statewide Independent Living Council.

None of these five appointments require the consent of the Senate.

Erwin Encinares | Reporter
Erwin Charles Tan Encinares holds a bachelor’s degree from the Chiang Kai Shek College and has covered a wide spectrum of assignments for the Saipan Tribune. Encinares is the paper’s political reporter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.