Torres says new Cabinet possibly by month’s end



While the nominations of acting Department of Lands and Natural Resources secretary Richard Seman and acting Commerce secretary Mark Rabauliman have been made, Lt. Gov. Ralph DLG. Torres said the public shouldn’t hold their breath as to when the rest of the new Cabinet would finally shape up.

“We’re going to be working on the transition report this week so the decision may be this week or next week,” said Torres in an interview with Saipan Tribune Tuesday morning at Mount Carmel School where he spearheaded the proclamation of Catholic School Week.

Torres said Gov. Eloy S. Inos may have a clear idea on who will be nominated or retained and that a new Cabinet could finally be announced by end of January.

“There are some Cabinet members who will stay and there are some Cabinet members who would be shifting to other responsibilities,” he said.

Saipan Tribune earlier reported that the makeup of the new Cabinet would be based on the transition report that will be submitted by Committee on Transition chair Gregorio M. Camacho.

With the nominations of Rabauliman and Seman, the current Cabinet is now composed of Finance Secretary Larrisa Larson, Community and Cultural Affairs Secretary Laura Ogumoro, Labor Secretary Edith Deleon Guerrero, Public Works Secretary Martin Sablan, Public Lands Secretary Pete A. Tenorio, Public Safety Commissioner James Deleon Guerrero, Corrections Commissioner Ramon Mafnas, Marianas Visitors Authority managing director Perry Tenorio, Chief Public Defender Doug Hartig, special assistant for Management and Budget Virginia Villagomez, special assistant for Homeland Security and Emergency Management Marvin Seman, Bureau of Environmental and Coastal Quality administrator Frank Rabauliman, special assistant for administration Esther Fleming, Carolinian Affairs Office director Jose Limes, Commonwealth Office of Transit Authority special assistant Thomas J. Camacho, Women’s Affairs Office special assistant Remy Buniag, and acting press secretary Ivan Blanco.

Inos requested his Cabinet to submit courtesy resignations immediately after his and Torres’ victory in the runoff election in December.

Helping Committee on Transition chair Gregorio M. Camacho complete the transition report is a Transition Executive Committee made up of James Ada as vice chairman and members Rufin S. Inos, Edward C. Deleon Guerrero, Esther S. Fleming, Mathilda A. Rosario, representative-elect Angel A. Demapan, and Torres brothers Vince, Victorino, and Joaquin.

Mark Rabago | Associate Editor
Mark Rabago is the Associate Editor of Saipan Tribune. Contact him at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.