Trump to meet with Palau, FSM, RMI presidents in DC

Posted on May 17 2019

, ,

President Donald J. Trump will welcome three presidents from the Freely Associated States in the Pacific to the White House on May 21, 2019.

The three are Republic of Palau President Tommy E. Remengesau Jr., Republic of the Marshall Islands President Hilda C. Heine, and Federated States of Micronesia President David W. Panuelo.

This will be the first time all three FAS leaders are hosted together at the White House by a U.S. president.

A U.S. Department of the Interior statement and a statement from the office of press secretary Sarah Sanders describe the event as a demonstration of the special partnership between the United States and the FAS.

“The leaders plan to discuss the close security ties between the United States and the FAS, their shared commitment to democracy and the rule of law, and their mutual interest in maintaining a free and open Pacific,” a DOI statement said.

Saipan Tribune

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.