UFO caging to announce awardees tomorrow

Posted on Oct 14 2011
By Roselyn Monroyo

Filcag Rollers' Leo Galarse, left, drives against the Jets' Eugene Manglona during their title game in the youth division of the UFO Docomo Cup on Oct. 8 at the Gillette Multipurpose Gymnasium of the TSL Sports Complex. The UFO caging will conclude the season with an awards ceremony tomorrow at 6pm. (Roselyn B. Monroyo) The top individual performers in the 2011 UFO Inter-Organization Basketball Friendship League will be determined tomorrow when the United Filipino Organization holds the awards ceremony at the Civic Center in Susupe.

Organizers of the UFO caging will be announcing the winners of the coveted MVP titles in the Bud Cup and Docomo Cup (masters and youth divisions) beginning 6pm. League organizers will also name the Mythical Five in each division and award trophies to the Top 4 finishers.

MDX/Armatech is this year’s Docomo Cup masters champion, dethroning 2010 titlist Cabalen/Wings Travel after an 84-79 victory in their winner-take-all finals on Oct. 6. MAFEA/RNV took the third place trophy, winning by default against VisMinda/PIAHI.

In the youth division, AFP/Jets claimed the inaugural championship after pulling off an 86-80 upset over Filcag Rollers. Samahang Ilokano at Pangasinense won the consolation game against pennant champion MDX/Armatech, 89-79.

The open division finals also resulted in an upset with MAFEA/Ali’I Konflikt stunning the then unbeaten Namfrel/Proa in the one-game finals last Tuesday, 94-80. Bayani/Mobil settled for third place after downing Cavite/Andok’s in the consolation match, 90-86.

For the MVP race, organizers have yet do release the list of candidates, but if selections will be based on statistics, the contenders may include Bayani’s Jun Estolas and Gyles Ruluked, Proa’s Pete Iguel, Ali’I Konflikt’s Ivan Devero and Elmer Esdrelon, the Hoopaholics’ Dave Sablan, Cavite’s Fred Pelisamen, and Noni’s Kae Bernardo.

For the youth division, the strong contenders are the Jets’ Sahj Hossain and Melvin Cadiang, MDX’s Matt Duenas, and Filcag’s Brandon Aulerio and Leo Galarse.

In the masters division, candidates may include Cabalen’s Tony Diaz and Edsel Mendoza, MDX’s Martin Moreno and Bernard Montano, VisMinda’s Ray Lizama and Junior Renguul, and MAFEA’s Dado Vistal.

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.