UOG faculty member gets Fulbright Specialists award

Posted on Oct 05 2011

Dr. Norberto V. Martinez, M.D., Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery, University of Santo Tomas -Faculty of Medicine and Surgery, and Dr. Richard W. Fee, Ph.D., associate professor of Special Education, University of Guam. (Contributed Photo) Dr. Richard W. Fee, associate professor of Special Education at the University of Guam, has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Philippines at the University of Santo Tomas – Faculty of Medicine during 2011-2012 academic year, according to the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship board.

Over the next 12 months, Dr. Fee will provide technical assistance and post-graduate training courses in the education of deaf children at the University of Santo Tomas – Faculty of Medicine. This innovative research and training project will explore methods for creating early intervention services and auditory centers to assist deaf children in urban and rural areas throughout the country. Dr. Fee will also assist in preparing and supporting special education and regular classroom teachers to accept over 3,000 poor deaf children who were recently given free hearing aids. There will be three two-week onsite experiences at UST over the year. The University of Santo Tomas, one of the most prestigious universities in the Philippines, recently celebrated its 400th anniversary, making it the oldest university in Asia.

Dr. Fee is one of 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. (Fulbright)

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.