Valdisimo leads Pre-HOM winners in MTB


Noe Valdisimo topped the long course of the MTB side of last Sunday’s 5PTS + 2 Pre-Hell of the Marianas.

Valdisimo registered 2:15:42 in the 55-kilometer course that started and ended at the Mariana Resort & Spa entrance for a 15-minute lead against runner-up Norlo Jacosalem, who clocked in at 2:30:39. Ding Ramos came in at third at 2:35:39. Ponce Corotan completed the MTB long course finishers after submitting 2:49:35 and was the lone rider in the 56-and-above division.

In other results in last weekend’s race, Dencio Bautista (2:16:11), Rusty Valino (2:18:00), and Ricky Suba (2:44:22) were the Top 3 finishers in the men’s road bike long course’s 41-45 age group, while Ayumi Kaga took the title in the women’s side (3:00:53).

Tyce Mister, who was among the riders in the lead group, had the fourth best time overall (2:10:16) to win the road bike 46-50 division. Jojo Valencia was 16 minutes behind Mister and checked in at 2:26:02 to place second place, while Bob Ferrer completed the Top 3 after posting 2:33:21. Kimiko McKagan (2:38:35) took the top honors in the women’s division.

Russ Quinn ruled the men’s 51-55 division in the road bike’s long course (2:17:33), while Alex Gozon (2:24:34) and Phil Galang (2:30:41) came in at second and third. Willy Barbo (2:21:11) and Cesar Fortaleza (2:29:14), on the other hand, were the Top 2 finishers in the 56-and-above division.

In the under 40 age group, Wynn Brillo (2:25:13) and Ernie Henzon (2:28:42) were the Top 2 finishers in the men’s division, while youngster J.C. Ferrer registered 2:33:18 in the women’s category.

The long course riders headed toward Mobil Tanapag where they made their turn en route to negotiating the north’s challenging five corners, making the climb at the Radar in As Matuis, and going to Suicide Cliff, Bird Island, Grotto, and Banzai Cliff. From Banzai Cliff, the riders headed back to Mariana Resort for the final turn going to Bird Island and Grotto and then returned to the starting line.

Meanwhile, in the short course (22.5K), Vernice Ronda and Kathy Ruszala finished 1-2 in the women’s road bike category with times of 1:18:35 and 1:24:03, respectively.

In the men’s road bike division, the Top 3 finishers were Jacob Rio (1:01:06), David Muna (1:02:45), and Dan Ganacias (1:12:06).

In the MTB shot course, Andy Estepa was the winner after completing the ride from Mariana Resort, Suicide Cliff, Bird Island, Grotto, Banzai Cliff, and back to the starting line in 1:02:44. Hernan Cristobal (1:07:11) and Boboy Aguilar (1:07:50) placed second and third.

Jon Perez | Reporter
Jon Perez began his writing career as a sports reporter in the Philippines where he has covered local and international events. He became a news writer when he joined media network ABS-CBN. He joined the weekly DAWN, University of the East’s student newspaper, while in college.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.