Villafria, Taylor lead finishers in Tagaman warmup


Ronald Villaria and Heather Taylor’s strong run pushed them on top of the finishers list in last Saturday’s 2020 Sprint Triathlon Tagaman Race Series 3.


Villaria won the closely fought men’s event of the last pre-Tagaman Triathlon race after completing the course in 1:21:15, just 16 seconds ahead of Tyce Mister. Nap Dizon rounded out the Top 3 after checking in at 1:22:32.

After falling behind in the 750-meter swim (Kilili Beach) and 35-kilometer bike (Kilili/Airport Road/Hyatt/Kilili), Villafria performed well in the 5K run (Kilili to Beach Road Pathaway across Monica’s Gallery and back)—his strongest suit—as he submitted 35:48, nearly two minutes faster than Mister’s 37:26. Villafria posted 13:33 and 32:54 in the swim and bike legs, while Mister timed in at 11:58 and 32:07 for a total time of 1:21:31. Dizon registered 12:04 in the swim part, was the fastest in the bike at 28:45, but fell behind in the run leg with his 41:43.

Floro Derexes (1:24:01), Russ Quinn (1:24:43), Tony Raho (1:30:53), Thomas Loi (1:31:53), Leo Wania (1:33:39), and Rommel Tioseco (1:35:33) were the other finishers in the men’s race.


In the women’s division, Taylor tallied 1:21:01 to beat five other competitors. She recorded 12:21 in the swim leg and 33:36 in the bike for a neck-and-neck race against Robyn Spaeth (12:25 and 31:02) before gaining cushion in the run part after posting 35:04 versus the latter’s 39:50.

Sarah Vander Wal completed the Top 3 after registering split times of 11:32 (fastest swimmer in the division), 39:09, and 37:55 for a total of 1:28:36. Sarka Glajchova (1:33:40), Kathy Ruszala (1:36:44), and Sheila Isla (1:53:25) also finished the course.

In the team event, MV Team, Vitamin C.E., and Tri To Compete led their respective divisions.

MV clocked in at 1:17:26 to down Agape Pegasus (1:17), Civic Boys (1:20:25) and six other squads in the men’s category. Vitamin C.E. submitted 1:40:11 to place ahead of Agape Dolphins (1:41:19) in the women’s, while Tri To Compete was the runaway winner in the mixed after timing in at 1:11:04. The seven other teams in the mixed relay event finished the course with times of 1:20:00 and change.

Meanwhile, registration for the Tagaman Triathlon set for March 21 is ongoing. Deadline to signup is on March 18. To register or for more information, check or

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.