102 candidates for Nov. 8 election

Taitano, 8 others beat deadline to file candidacies

Saipan Zoning Office board treasurer Cecilia R. Taitano and eight other individuals beat yesterday’s deadline to file their candidacies, bringing to 102 the total number of candidates for 48 positions that are up for grabs in the Nov. 8 general election.

The CEC board has to certify the candidates for meeting the requirements of election law to be placed on the ballot.

Taitano, who is running for a House of Representatives Precinct 4 seat under the NMI Republican Party, submitted her candidacy papers to Commonwealth Election Commission executive director Kayla S. Igitol at the CEC office in Susupe at 3pm.

Taitano was accompanied by Sen. Vinnie F. Sablan, some Republican candidates and officials, family members, and supporters.

Taitano is also currently the Carolinian Affairs Office acting executive assistant, Office of the Governor’s public liaison officer, and president of the Commonwealth Women’s Association.

Taitano in an interview said her motivation and passion is still the same—to continue to serve the people to the best of her ability.

“My biggest platform is sustainable development, breaking any barriers to come between our people’s progress and our people’s betterment. So with that, I’m running to serve our community,” she said.

Commonwealth Election Commission executive director Kayla S. Igitol said that, aside from Taitano, Juanita Masga Mendiola filed her candidacy for a seat in the Tinian Municipal Council.

Igitol said seven others filed for a House and Municipal Council seats before the 4:30pm deadline.

The Republican Party has 31 candidates, including Gov. Ralph DLG Torres and Sen. Vinnie F. Sablan, who are running for governor and lieutenant governor, respectively.

The NMI Democratic Party has 12 candidates, including Reps. Christina E. Sablan and Leila F. Staffler, who are seeking for governor and lieutenant governor positions, respectively. Gregorio Kilili C. Sablan is seeking his eighth term as delegate in the U.S. House of Representatives under the Democratic Party. He is running unopposed again.

Lt. Gov. Arnold I. Palacios is running for governor, with Saipan Mayor David M. Apatang as his running mate, under a unified independent team. The unified independent team has 16 other candidates.

The remaining candidates are running either independent and non-partisans.

CNMI Supreme Court Associate Justice John A. Manglona and Superior Court associate judges Joseph James Norita Camacho and Wesley M. Bogdan, who are up for retention on the bench, are considered non-partisans.

Edward Manibusan is seeking his third term as CNMI attorney general. Former Superior Court associate judge Juan T. Lizama is challenging Manibusan’s candidacy. The AG position is non-partisan.

The other non-partisans candidates are those running for municipal council and Board of Education positions.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at ferdie_delatorre@Saipantribune.com
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.