3 named CEC commissioners

Lelanie Manglona of Rota re-appointed as commissioner

Two persons have been appointed Saipan representatives on the Commonwealth Election Commission and one as a Tinian commissioner, allowing the commission to have a quorum.

In an interview Monday at CEC during the Republican Party’s filing of candidates, Gov. Ralph DLG Torres disclosed that he just signed that day the appointment of retired military John Diego Attao as a commissioner representing Tinian. Torres said he also recently appointed Vicenta Rosario and Dorris Atalig as commissioners representing Saipan.

The commissioner’s term is four years.

The administration also re-appointed Lelanie M. Manglona as commissioner representing Rota. Manglona’s term expired last July 21.

“It’s Tinian that we needed in order for the board of election to have a quorum,” Torres said.

File photo shows the Commonwealth Election Commission office in Susupe. (FERDIE DE LA TORRE)

The governor said the current number of commissioners is enough for a quorum but the law requires one representative from each island in order for the board to hold a meeting.

“We’re working with the Senate. They will be making the public hearing…hopefully this week,” Torres said. The CNMI Senate has to first approve the appointments before they become official.

When the term of commissioner Joseph E. Santos of Tinian and Aguiguan and Manglona of Rota expired last July 21, CEC board had no quorum as this left Tinian and Aguiguan with no commissioner, and Rota with only commissioner Esther A. Yatar.

Saipan and the Northern Islands currently have two commissioners—Jesus I. Sablan and Henry Emery Kaipat. Sablan is the current board chairman.

CEC executive director Julita A. Villagomez earlier stated that the commission needs five commissioners in all to have a quorum, and at least one for each island.

All nine commissioners are appointed by the governor and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

The mid-term election, which CEC now calls the general election, will be this Nov. 3. The last day to file candidacies was yesterday, Wednesday.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at ferdie_delatorre@Saipantribune.com

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.