Bank of Saipan donates $20K hole-in-one prize

Posted on Aug 01 2022

Bank of Saipan president and CEO John Arroyo, third left, and staff present a $20,000 hole-in-one prize on July 22, 2022, at the bank branch in San Jose, Saipan, for the 20th Annual HANMI Charity Classic Golf Tournament. From left, Karen Kalen, golf tournament committee member Max Concepcion, Arroyo, tournament committee chair Juko Ishikawa, tournament committee vice chair Neil Metran, Gina Delon Guerrero, tournament committee member Das Krisnan, Lee Tudel, Ritchell Sublemente, and Arnold Pascua. (CONTRIBUTED PHOTO)

A $20,000 hole-in-one prize sponsored by Bank of Saipan now awaits a lucky winner at the 20th Annual HANMI Charity Classic Golf Tournament on Sept. 17, 2022, at Laolao Bay Golf & Resort west course.

The prize was presented by Bank of Saipan president and CEO John Arroyo on July 22, 2022, at the bank branch in San Jose, Saipan.

“We extend a big thank you to Bank of Saipan for supporting our tournament this year with a fantastic $20,000 hole-in-one prize,” said HANMI Golf Tournament Committee chair Juko Ishikawa. “We’ve had hole-in-one winners before, and we hope someone will be lucky enough to walk away from hole No. 7 with this prize this year.”

The primary beneficiary of this year’s tournament is Northern Marianas Technical Institute.

Registration forms are now available at,, and at LaoLao Bay Golf & Resort and Coral Ocean Resort. 

The early bird tournament fee is $120 and includes green fee and the awards luncheon. The fee increases to $140 after the early bird deadline of Friday, Sept. 3, at 5pm. For an additional $30 players may also compete for optional play prizes, including longest drive (male and female), accurate drive, aggressive drive, and four chances for nearest to the pin. The tournament is open to the first 144 paid registrants.

Showtime is 6am and the tournament will start at 7am. The awards banquet will immediately follow the tournament at Laolao Bay Golf & Resort.

Last year, CNMI national golfer J.J. Atalig won the 19th Annual HANMI Charity Classic Golf Tournament at the Coral Ocean Resort.

Atalig’s net score of 68 was good enough to win the championship of the double Peoria competition.

Yuko Togawa came in second with a net score of 69.4 with Younghee Yoo finishing third with a net score of 69.6. Ben Jones Jr. and Peter Mendiola completed the Top 5 with net score of 69.8 and 70.2, respectively.

The rest of the Top 9 are Yang Kim (70.2), Chris Groves (70.4), Franco Santos (70.6), and Ray Quintanilla (70.8). 

Organizers also gave special awards to random place finishers Dan Ganacias (No. 19 with a net score of 71.8), Meae Jeon (No. 39, 73.2), Edward Reyes Jr. (No. 99, 76.2), and Mamoru Watanabe (No. 119, 77.8). The latter finished last in the tournament.

For more information on the 20th Annual HANMI Charity Classic Golf Tournament, contact tournament chair Juko Ishikawa at or visit (PR)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.