CEC amends voting sites


The Commonwealth Election Commission amended the early voting schedule and the designated polling places for this month’s general elections during an emergency meeting yesterday.

The CEC board already adopted the designated polling places in a meeting last Oct. 18, but was forced to amend this because of Super Typhoon Yutu, which devastated many schools.

The general election was earlier set on Nov. 6; it has been moved to Nov. 13.

CEC board chair pro tem Jesus I. Sablan and six other commissioners unanimously adopted yesterday the amended designated polling sites.

Based on the changes, early voting for Saipan and Northern Islands, Tinian and Aguiguan, and Rota will now start today, Tuesday, and end on Nov. 12.

The polling places for all senatorial districts will open at 8:30am and close at 4pm each day, inclusive of weekends and holidays.

Early voting for the Northern Islands only, which started last Sept. 28 and will end on Nov. 12, is at the Pedro P. Tenorio Multi-Purpose Center in Susupe.

Early voting for Rota will be at the Rota-Northern Marianas College Room A-1, while the one on Tinian will be at the Tinian-Department of Public Safety/Department of Fire and Emergency Medical Services.

Early voting on Saipan will be at the Pedro P. Tenorio Multi-Purpose Center in Susupe.

CEC executive director Julita A. Villagomez said that voters must bring with them an identification card with picture, which they must present in order to be issued a ballot at the polls.

CEC administrative officer Kayla Igitol said the Nov. 13 general election will start at 7am and end at 7pm on the same day.

Igitol said there are seven changes because either the designated polling place—usually a school—was severely damaged by Yutu or the cafeteria is being used as a shelter.

The designated polling site for Precinct 1A or San Antonio area and Precinct 1C or Koblerville area are now both at the Koblerville Youth Center.

Hopwood Junior High School in Chalan Piao used to be the polling place for San Antonio voters, but the school had extensive damage.

She said Koblerville voters previously voted at Koblerville Elementary School, but the school is being used a shelter.

Igitol said Precinct 3A or the Oleai/San Jose voters used to vote at Oleai Elementary School, but due to the damage to the school, the Marianas Visitors Authority is now the designated polling place.

Igitol said for Precinct 4A or the Tanapag area voters, the previous designated place was the Tanapag Middle School, but since the school is now being used as a shelter, the new polling site is the Tanapag Youth Center.

For Precinct 5-1 and 5-2 or Kagman area voters, the Kagman Elementary School is currently a shelter and the new polling site is the Cha Cha Middle School cafeteria.

On Rota, the new polling place is Rota-NMC room A-1 instead of room B-1. On Tinian, the new polling site is DPS/DFEMS instead of the previous site, the Tinian Elementary School.

The polling places for the Nov. 13 general election are as follows:

-Precinct 1A (San Antonio area)—Koblerville Youth Center

-Precinct 1B-1 and IB-2 (San Vicente/Dandan areas)—Dandan Middle School cafeteria

-Precinct 1C (Koberville area)—Koblerville Youth Center

-Precinct 2 (Chalan Kanoa/Susupe areas—Joeten Kiyu Public Library

-Precinct 3A (San Jose/Oleai area)—MVA facility

-Precinct 3B-1 and 3B-2 (Garapan area)—Garapan Central Park

-Precinct 4A (Tanapag area)—Tanapag Youth Center

-Precinct 4B (San Roque/As Matuis areas)—Gregorio T. Camacho Elementary School cafeteria

-Precinct 4C (Capital Hill area)—Jesus P. Mafnas Legislative Building

-Precinct 4D (Northern Islands)—Alamagan, Pagan, and Agrigan

-Precinct 5-1 and 5-2 (Kagman area)— Cha Cha Middle School cafeteria

-Precinct 6 (Tinian and Aguiguan)—Tinian DPS/DFEMS

-Precinct 7 (Rota)—Rota-NMC room A-1

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at ferdie_delatorre@Saipantribune.com

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.