GOP slate now complete


The CNMI Republican Party’s slate of candidates for this November elections is now complete, according to GOP president James Ada.

In an email to Saipan Tribune, Ada said the Republican Party of the CNMI is ready for the 2018 general elections in November. He added that the party has been strategizing for the last eight months.

“There are a lot of new members and we have been receiving calls from our constituents to join our…party, led by our titular head in Gov. Ralph DLG Torres and the rest of the GOP candidates, precinct club chairman, members, supporters and families,” said Ada in a statement.

Ada thanked Tinian Republican Party chair Frank Borja and Rota Republican Party chair Laura Manglona, as well as Greg “Kachuma” Camacho, chairman of the committee-to-elect the Torres-Palacios gubernatorial tandem.

In the current 20th CNMI Legislature, the GOP dominates both chambers, with only seven members comprising the minority: minority leader Rep. Edmund Villagomez (Ind-Saipan), Reps. Edwin K. Propst (Ind-Saipan), Vinson Sablan (Ind-Saipan), Lorenzo I. Deleon Guerrero (Ind-Saipan), Sen. Paul Manglona (Ind-Rota), and two minority members who now side with the GOP: Rep. Blas ‘BJ’ Attao (Ind-Saipan) and Sen. Justo Quitugua (Ind-Saipan).


Governor and lieutenant governor
Ralph Dlg. Torres, Governor
Arnold I. Palacios, Lieutenant Governor

Candidate for U.S. delegate
Angel Demapan

Candidate for Saipan mayor
David M. Apatang

Candidate for Northern Islands mayor
Diego Kaipat

Candidate for Rota mayor
Efraim Atalig

Candidate for Tinian mayor
Edwin Aldan

Candidates for Senate (Saipan)
Justo Quitugua
Joseph Deleon Guerrero

Candidates for Senate (Tinian)
Jude Hofschneider
Frank Cruz

Candidates for Senate (Rota)
Victor Hocog
Felix Santos

Candidates for Precinct I
Janet Maratita
Joseph Leepan Guerrero
Greg Sablan, Jr.
Luis John Castro
Roman Benavente
Ray T. Palacios

Candidates for Precinct II
Ralph Demapan
John Paul Sablan

Candidates for Precinct III
Frank Dela Cruz
Ivan Blanco
Joe Itibus
Donald Barcinas
BJ Attao
Ralph Yumul

Candidates for Precinct IV
Alice S. Igitol
Joel Camacho

Candidates for Precinct V
Frank C. Aguon
Larry Deleon Guerrero

Candidate for Tinian House
Antonio Borja

Candidate for Rota House
Glenn Maratita

Erwin Encinares | Reporter
Erwin Charles Tan Encinares holds a bachelor’s degree from the Chiang Kai Shek College and has covered a wide spectrum of assignments for the Saipan Tribune. Encinares is the paper’s political reporter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.