Hix assures successful Democratic bets will deliver


NMI Democratic Party chair Nola Hix expressed confidence yesterday that their successful candidates, based on the Commonwealth Election Commission’s unofficial tabulation results, will deliver change to their constituents.

The CNMI Democratic Party, in its statement, said there is a lot of work ahead and it urged all elected leaders to unite to resolve ongoing challenges and to continue moving the Commonwealth forward for the community.

Hix assured people that she herself and the Democratic Party team will hold their candidates accountable.

“This is and will be a win for the people,” said Hix in response to Saipan Tribune’s request for statements about Democratic Party’s impressive performance during Tuesday’s general elections.

Hix said that people’s desire for change was expressed at the ballot boxes where the Democratic Party’s candidates ran a historic race. So far, about half of their slate have succeeded.

“We are ‘The People’s Party’ and the people have spoken,” she said.

The CEC board has yet to certify the winners as there are an estimated 50 to 100 absentee ballots that are expected to arrive on Nov. 17.

Based on CEC’s unofficial tabulation results, nine Democratic Party candidates prevailed. For Saipan Senate it’s Edith E. Deleon Guerrero, and for the House of Representatives they are former representative Edwin Kenneth Propst, Celina R. Babauta, Rep. Christina-Marie Elise Sablan, Denita K. Yangetmai, Vicente Castro Camacho, Sheila Therese Jack Babauta, Leila Haveia Fleming Staffler, and Rep. Richard Tudela Lizama.

For the Republicans, 10 Republican Party candidates won. For the Tinian Senate it’s Karl Rosario King-Nabors and for the House are Roy Christopher Ada, Angel Aldan Demapan, Rep. Joseph Leepan Tenorio Guerrero, Rep. John Paul Sablan, House Speaker Blas Jonathan Attao, Rep. Ivan Alafanson Blanco, Rep. Ralph Naraja Yumul, Rep. Joel Castro Camacho, and Patrick Hofschneider San Nicolas.

Delegate Gregorio Kilili C. Sablan, an independent, ran unopposed for his seventh term. Five other independents prevailed—Rota Sen. Paul A. Manglona, Rep. Joseph Arriola Flores, Rep. Edmund Joseph Sablan Villagomez, and Rep. Donald Manalang Manglona. Delegate Sablan, Sen. Manglona, and Rep. Manglona, however, are aligned with the Democratic Party.

Hix said they are proud of their candidates’ extraordinary courage and dedication to rise up to the challenge in becoming an alternative solution to the many challenges facing the people today.

The chairwoman said the teamwork displayed throughout this campaign will continue on through all of their candidates and their determination to offer a better quality of life for all.

She said their candidates are excited to get to work and that, as they await the results of the remaining absentee ballots, they want to thank the Commonwealth Election Commission, Office of the Public Auditor, the Department of Public Safety, and the election workers, volunteers, and supporters for their “hard work and professionalism” in ensuring the utmost integrity in the 2020 midterm elections.

“On behalf of the Democratic Party of the NMI, and its 2020 candidates we would like to thank and congratulate the people of the CNMI for their votes of confidence,” Hix said.

The Republican Party, for its part, asked the people to continue to keep the communities safe and remain focused on working together to further strengthen resiliency and in building a stronger and sustainable Commonwealth.

“To our people of the Commonwealth, thank you for exercising your civic duty. Democracy is the fundamental bedrock of a healthy and free society and we thank you all for your participation in this election,” the GOP said.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at ferdie_delatorre@Saipantribune.com
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.