Hofschneider resigns as CEC commissioner

CEC in critical situation as there are only 5 commissioners again

Commonwealth Election Commission member and vice chair pro tem Donald M. Hofschneider has recently resigned, leaving CEC with only five commissioners again.

CEC executive director Julita Villagomez said that having only five commissioners is critical for CEC because if one remaining member fails to show up at a board meeting, there will be no quorum.

Hofschneider’s resignation took effect last Feb. 16. His third four-year term as commissioner representing Tinian and Aguiguan is supposed to expire on Oct. 18, 2020. He first served as commissioner in 2008.

Hofschneider cited unspecified personal reasons when he submitted his resignation to Gov. Ralph DLG Torres.

His resignation could prove problematic for the CEC due to the forthcoming November 2018 general election.

“Therefore, it is imperative that I resign from this position, so there will be ample time for you to appoint someone to fill this vacancy,” Hofschneider told the governor in the resignation letter.

The remaining commissioner representing Tinian and Aguiguan is Joseph E. Santos.

At present, commissioner Jesus Sablan, of Saipan, has been serving as CEC chairman pro tempore since Frances Sablan’s term expired last August.

Jesus Sablan’s four-year term, however, will expire on Oct. 27, 2018.

Patricia Mareham recently joined as commission representing Carolinians of Saipan. There are still three vacant commissioner’s positions for Saipan and the Northern Islands.

Rota has two commissioners: Leilanie Manglona and Esther Yatar.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at ferdie_delatorre@Saipantribune.com

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.