Jeffrey Sablan is CNMI govt’s Employee of the Year

Posted on Sep 03 2019


Each of the numerous CNMI government agencies’ employee of the year pose for a group photo with Gov. Ralph DLG Torres during last Saturday’s Labor Day celebration at the Garapan Fishing Base. (MARC A. VENUS)

Commonwealth Health Care Corp. employee of the year Jeffrey Sablan was named the CNMI government’s overall employee of the year for 2019.

Sablan was awarded the 2019 CNMI Government Employee of the Year plum last Saturday morning during the annual CNMI government’s Labor Day celebration at the Garapan Fishing Base.

Although Sablan himself was unable to collect the two plaques—one recognizing him as CHCC employee of the year and another as overall CNMI government employee of the year—his mother Bernie S. Cabrera was able to collect it for him.

“I am very proud that the committee did their part and for coming up with the best candidate for this occasion,” she told Saipan Tribune in an interview.

“Rain or shine, he goes [to work],” she added in a testament to how hardworking her son is.

Sablan works with the hospital’s vaccine supply management, particularly in storage and distribution.

CHCC chief executive officer Esther Muna told Saipan Tribune that Sablan, exemplifies the work ethic of many CHCC employees and other public service employees in the CNMI.

“[Sablan] has great commitment to public service. Many of us find him with always a smile on his face, despite any situation. During the [Super] Typhoon Yutu response, there [was] obviously a lot of stress going on but you won’t see that when you’re speaking to [him],” she said.

According to Cabrera, her son was unable to make it back to Saipan on time for the Labor Day celebration because he is currently in transit. She noted that Sablan had been working at CHCC for over seven years now.

Twenty-nine other employees of the year for other government agencies include Department of Commerce’s Frances B. Pangelinan, Department of Community and Cultural Affairs’ Dolores Cruz, Department of Corrections’ Leo Galarse, Department of Finance’s Neimakua Blanco, Department of Fire and Emergency Medical Services Juan Camacho, Department of Labor’s Frances Torres, Department of Lands and Natural Resources’ Rudy Camacho, Department of Public Lands’ Mai Chong, Department of Public Safety’s Arnold Seman Jr., Department of Public Works’ Franklin Iguel, Bureau of Environmental and Coastal Quality’s Richard Salas, Civil Service Commission Office of Personnel Management’s Marlene Cruz, CNMI Legislative Bureau’s Frances Joan Kaipat, CNMI Scholarship Office’s Jovene Ogo, Commonwealth Casino Commission’s Juanette Sablan, Commonwealth Development Authority’s Frederick Cruz, Commonwealth Ports Authority’s Pauline Camacho, Commonwealth Utilities Corp.’s Herbit Villagomez, Joeten-Kiyu Public Library’s Gerard Borja, Northern Marianas Housing Corp.’s Melinda Babauta, Office of the Attorney General’s Carla Torres, Office of Management and Budget’s Nadia Benjamin, Office of Vocational Rehabilitation’s Jane Tudela, CNMI Museum’s James Macaranas, Office of the Governor’s Daisy Demapan and Chuzi Rios, Saipan Mayor’s Office’s Yuki Kishimoto, and Marianas Visitors Authority’s Demalynn Pagarao.

Erwin Encinares | Reporter
Erwin Charles Tan Encinares holds a bachelor’s degree from the Chiang Kai Shek College and has covered a wide spectrum of assignments for the Saipan Tribune. Encinares is the paper’s political reporter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.