Krishnan named 2020 Ace of Aces


Das Krishnan shows off his championship trophy and winnings after topping the 2020 Saipan Golfers Association Ace of Aces Tournament. (Contributed Photo)

Das Krishnan won the championship of 2020 Ace of Aces Tournament after shooting a two-round net score of 129 in the Saipan Golfers Association season-ending competition.

Krishnan, who won the monthly tournament last May, shot a net 60 in Round 1 of the tournament at the Kingfisher Golf Links last Feb. 28.

The Fiesta Resort & Spa Saipan F&B director fired a 38 in the front nine before retiring to the club house with a 40 in the back nine for a gross score of 78. By virtue of his 12 handicap, Krishnan was able to set the score to beat that day.

In Round 2 of the tournament at the Coral Ocean Resort golf course last March 7, Krishnan continued his good play with a net score of 69, built around a 42 in the front nine and 39 in the back nine.

Alex Tudela, who won the October ace, came in second place after finishing seven strokes behind Krishnan with a 136 net score. The 10-handicapper scored a net 65 in Round 1 in the strength of a 36 in the front and 39 in the back for a gross of 75.

In the second round, Tudela came away with a net score of 71 after firing 41 in the front nine and 40 in the back nine for a gross of 81.

Frances Sablan completed the Top 3 with a two-round net score of 141. Sablan scored a net 69 in the first round after the 30-handicapper had a gross of 99 (49-50). She then made a net 72 in the second round when she totaled a gross of 102 (53-49).

Completing the Top 5 wereJune ace Larry Deleon Guerrero (net 146) and September ace John “Nanni” Cruz (net 150).

In the closest to the pin for Day 1, Tony Deleon Guerrero won in hole No. 6 and No. 15; Rene Batallones won in hole No. 8; and Krishnan won in hole No. 12.

For Day 2, Mariano Fajardo won in hole No. 3; Tony Benavente won hole No. 7; Cruz won hole No. 12; and Krishnan took hole No. 14.

The longest drive in Day 1 was won by Cruz in hole No. 9 and Nick Sablan in hole No. 18. For Day 2, Rick Kautz won in hole No. 1 and Alex Tudela won in hole No. 18.

Kimberly B. Esmores | Reporter
Kimberly Albiso Bautista has covered a wide range of news beats, including the community, housing, crime, and more. She now covers sports for the Saipan Tribune. Contact her at
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.