Neises-Mocanu makes it to ‘40 Under 40’ in public health


Kaitlyn Neises-Mocanu of the Commonwealth Health Care Corp. was named yesterday as one of 40 honorees of the de Beaumont Foundation in its inaugural list of 40 Under 40 in Public Health.

Neises-Mocanu, a special assistant for policy, sustainability, and development for CHCC was the sole honoree from a U.S. territory; the rest are all health practitioners in the U.S. mainland.

Kaitlyn Neises-Mocanu

According to a description of Neises-Mocanu’s achievements on the de Beaumont Foundation’s website, she makes improvements to discount programs for the uninsured, drafts policy briefings on Medicaid and health care financing in the CNMI for policymakers, and advocates for tax increases on harmful products such as betel nut and sugary drinks at the CNMI Legislature. Currently, Neises-Mocanu is working on a listing of non-communicable disease policy recommendations to include in the CNMI State Strategic Plam.

She is working on her master’s degree in Public Health at the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University.

The 24 women and 16 men from 23 states and one U.S. commonwealth were selected for their new ideas, creative approaches and innovative solutions to improve community health.

“We launched 40 Under 40 to personalize the public health field and showcase the creativity and commitment of the individuals who are strengthening the health of our nation’s communities,” said Brian C. Castrucci, president and CEO of the de Beaumont Foundation. “By elevating the work and voices of these leaders, we hope to attract and inspire other professionals to bring creativity and innovation to the future of public health.”

The honorees’ job titles range from health commissioner and director of health equity to doula and epidemiologist. Each individual has helped to strengthen their community and has made significant contributions to the field of public health.

Aside from Neises-Mocanu, the other 40 Under 40 in Public Health for 2019 are:

– Mark Abraham, DataHaven
– Jonathan Ballard, New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
– Colleen Healy Boufides, Network for Public Health Law – Mid-States Region/University of Michigan School of Public Health
– Leah Casanave, Douglas County Health Department
– Megan Cunningham, Chicago Department of Health
– Christa Cupp, Wisconsin Department of Health Services
– Corey Davis, Network for Public Health Law
– Julian Drix, Rhode Island Department of Health
– Jessica Gehle, Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department
– Eric Harkness, Tennessee Department of Health
– Brett Harris, New York State Office of Mental Health
– Kristine Hollingsworth, Florida Department of Health – Collier County
– Jeffrey Hom, Philadelphia Department of Public Health
– Jeffrey Howard, Kentucky Department for Public Health
– Devin Hursey, Missouri HIV Justice Coalition
– Sami Kamal Jarrah, Philadelphia Department of Public Health
– Joseph Kanter, Louisiana Department of Health
– Joneigh Khaldun, Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
– Jesse Lava, Chicago Department of Public Health
– Jacqualyn Littlepage, Lake County Public Health Agency
– Brittany Marshall, CDC Foundation
– Megan McClaire, Los Angeles County Department of Public Health
– Mac McCullough, Arizona State University
– William Moore, Saint Paul Ramsey County Department of Public Health
– Sarah Moyer, Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness
– Carolyn Mullen, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
– Amy Olejniczak, Wisconsin Alliance for Women’s Health
– Aysha Pamukcu, ChangeLab Solutions
– Jamila Porter, Safe States Alliance
– Lauren Powell, Virginia Department of Health
– Syretta Shealey, Chicago Public Schools, Office of Student Health and Wellness
– AZ Snyder, Pierce County Public Health Department
– Kenneth Steel, Maricopa County Department of Public Health
– Jovonni Spinner, Food and Drug Administration
– Alison Traynor, North Dakota Department of Health
– Sameer Vohra, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
– Elizabeth Walsh, City of Kansas City, Mo. Health Department
– Yi Wang, Indiana University Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health
– Mariah Wilberg, Minnesota Department of Health

Nominees were evaluated by a panel of professionals from the nonprofit, business, and higher education sectors on their demonstrated leadership, contributions to their community’s health, and collaboration with other organizations.

The 2019 judges panel includes:

– Derrick Feldmann, Senior Advisor Research and Consultancy Services, Ad Council
– Carrie Fox, President and CEO, Mission Partners
– Robert Fullilove, EdD, MS, Professor, Sociomedical Sciences at the Columbia University Medical Center, Associate Dean, Community and Minority Affairs, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health
– Sarah Martin, PhD, MPH, MPP, Director of Public Health, mySidewalk
– Judy Monroe, MD, President and CEO, CDC Foundation
– Thomas Quade, MA, MPH, CPH, FRSPH, Health Commissioner, Geauga County Public Health
– Kris Risley, DrPH, CPCC, Managing Director for Workforce, de Beaumont Foundation
– Katie Sellers, DrPH, CPH, Vice President for Impact, de Beaumont Foundation

To learn more about the honorees and their accomplishments, visit

The de Beaumont Foundation creates and invests in bold solutions to build healthier communities. The Foundation advances policy, builds partnerships, and strengthens public health to create communities where people can achieve their best possible health. (PR, Saipan Tribune)

Saipan Tribune

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.