No runoff election

97 candidates vying for 45 positions

Former Labor secretary Edith Deleon Guerrero filed her candidacy as an independent candidate for a Saipan Senate seat, while five other non-partisans filed their candidacies for Tinian Municipal Council and Board of Education Saipan position at yesterday’s deadline to submit candidacy papers.

This brings to 97 the total number of candidates who will be seeking the voters’ nod for 45 positions up for grabs in the coming Nov. 6 general election.

As there are only two teams running for governor and lieutenant governor, there will be no runoff election, according to Commonwealth Election Commission executive director Julita Villagomez,

Villagomez said the drawing of the candidates’ slot in the ballots for Saipan and Rota will be held tomorrow, Friday.

The drawing of candidates’ slot for Tinian was done yesterday.

Aside from Edith Deleon Guerrero, others who beat yesterday’s deadline to file their candidacies were Joseph A. Borja, Ervin Cruz and Nikita Mendiola for the Tinian Municipal Council, and Joana Lyn Camacho and Jonathan SN. Sablan for Board of Education position.

Edith Deleon Guerrero said she wants to pursue the uncollected $400,000 public funds, stop collusion and malfeasance in public office, restore public trust, promote and build a diversified economy, among other things.

“The CNMI government belongs to the people and the people’s interest must be protected,” Deleon Guerrero said in a statement.

She said the future of the islands must be protected and is not for sale either.

“We must not be exploited nor sold alive with our motherland,” Deleon Guerrero said.

The ruling Republican Party has 33 candidates led by Gov. Ralph DLG. Torres, Senate President Arnold I. Palacios, and Rep. Angel A. Demapan.

Torres and Palacios are running for governor and lieutenant governor, respectively, while Demapan is seeking the position of the U.S. delegate to the U.S. House of Representatives.

Forty-two are running as independents led by former governor Juan N. Babauta, former Public School System commissioner Dr. Rita A. Sablan, and Delegate Gregorio Kilili C. Sablan

Babauta and Sablan are eyeing the governor and lieutenant governor seat, respectively, while Sablan is seeking his sixth term as the CNMI’s non-voting representative in Congress.

For the Democratic Party, it has only two candidates—Glenn Hocog Manglona for Precinct 1 House of the Representatives and Peter Francis Reyes Muna for Precinct 5 House of the Representatives.

For non-partisans, Attorney General Edward Eladio Manibusan is unopposed in his re-election bid as AG, while Chief Justice Alexandro C. Castro and Associate Judge Teresa K. Kim-Tenorio are also on the ballots for retention on the bench. Saipan Tribune did not include the justice’s and the judge’s positions in the 45 up for grabs. There are 19 non-partisan candidates for the municipal council and Board of Education positions.

In the Saipan mayoral race, Mayor David M. Apatang is seeking re-election as a Republican, while Ramon Blas Camacho is challenging Apatang as an independent.

In the Tinian mayoral race, the Republican has fielded Edwin Palacios Aldan, while Henry Hofschneider San Nicolas is running as an independent.

It’s a crowded race in the Rota mayoral polls. Mayor Edraim M. Atalig (R) is seeking re-election. Atalig is being challenged by four independent candidates—Steve King Mesngon, Julie Marie Ogo Manglona, Richard Evangelista Taisacan, and Crispin Ayuyu.

For the Northern Islands, the Republican’s Diego Litulumar Kaipat is challenging the independent candidacy of incumbent mayor Vicente Cruz Santos Jr.

For the Senate, there are six seats—two each for Saipan, Tinian, and Rota.

For Senate Saipan, the Republican candidates are Justo Songao Quitugua and Joseph Pinaula Deleon Guerrero. Independent candidates are Vinnie Vinson Flores Sablan, Heinz Sablan Hofshneider, and Edith Deleon Guerrero.

For Tinian Senate, the Republican bets are Jude Untalan Hofschneider and Francisco Quichocho Cruz. Independent candidates are Juanita Masga Mendiola and Eric Henry Cruz San Nicolas.

For Rota Senate, it’s also a crowded race. the Republican candidates are Lt. Gov. Victor Borja Hocog and Felix Mundo Santos. There are four independents: Teresita Apatang Santos, Albert Atalig Taitano, Joel Gogue Charfauros, and Jovita Maratita Taimanao.

For the House, there are 20 seats—six for Precinct 1; two for Precinct 2; six for Precinct 3; two for Precinct 4; two for Precinct 5; one for Precinct 6 (Tinian); and one for Precinct 7 (Rota).

The Republican has filled all 20 House seats, two are Democrats, and 23 are independents.

For Precinct 1, the Republican bets are Janet Ulloa Maratita, Joseph Leepan Tenorio Guerrero, Luis John Deleon Guerrero Castro, Roman Cepeda Benavente, Gregorio M. Sablan Jr., and Raymond Ulloa Palacios.

The independent candidates for Precinct 1 are Joseph Arriola Flores, Lino Sablan Tenorio, Edwin Kenneth Propst, Franklin Reyes Babauta, Dorotheo Anthony Kisa, and Samantha Birmingham Babauta. The Democratic Party’s Glenn Hocog Manglona is running for Precinct 1.

For Precinct 2, the Republican candidates are House Speaker Rafael Sablan Demapan and John Paul Palacios Sablan. The independents are Christina Marie “Tina” Sablan and Isabel Pangelinan Matsunaga.

For Precinct 3, the Republican candidates are Ralph Naraja Yumul, Ivan Blanco, Jonathan “BJ” Blas T. Attao, Jose Ilo Itibus, Donald Barcinas, and Francisco Santos Dela Cruz.

The independent candidates for Precinct 3 are Luis Selepeo Tilipao, Mariano Deleon Guerrero Fajardo, Stanley Tudela McGinnis Torres, Vicente Castro Camacho, David Castro Sablan, and Edmund Sablan Villagomez.

For Precinct 4, the Republican bets are Joel Castro Camacho and Alice Santos Igitol. The independents are Cecilia R. Taitano, Malcolm Jason Omar, and Sheila Therese Jack Babauta.

For Precinct 5, the Republican has Lorenzo Iglecias Deleon Guerrero and Francisco Concepcion Aguon. The independents are Juan Cepeda Deleon Guerrero, Joseph Muna Mendiola, and Richard Tudela Lizama. The Democratic has Peter Francisco Reyes Muna.

For Precinct 6 (Tinian), the Republican has Antonio San Nicolas Borja, while Frederick Arend Dela Cruz is running as an independent.

For Precinct 7 (Rota), the Republican’s candidate is Glenn Lizama Maratita, while the independents are Donald Manalang Manglona and Thomas Taimanao Atalig.

For municipal council, there are nine positions—three each for Saipan, Tinian, and Rota. All are non-partisan candidates.

For Saipan municipal council, candidates are Thomas Sablan Muna, Debra Lynn Tenorio Camacho, Ana Demapan-Castro, and Antonia Manibusan Tudela.

For Tinian municipal council, the candidates are Esteven SN. King Jr., Patrick A. Manglona, Thomasa Palacios Mendiola, Joseph A. Borja, Ervin Cruz, and Nikita Mendiola.

For Rota municipal council, the candidates are Lucia Songsong Manglona, Alexander Apatang, Anthony Wayne Dela Cruz Barcinas, Simeon Evangelista Taisacan, and George Ogo Hocog.

For Board of Education, there are two vacant seats—one for Saipan and one for Tinian.

For Saipan, Andrew L. Orsini, Antonia Manibusan Tudela, and James Rayphand are running. For Tinian, Joana Lyn Camacho and Jonathan SN Sablan are seeking the lone position.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.