Nominations still being accepted for 2019 Bridge of Light awardee

Posted on Aug 28 2019

Nominations for the 2019 Bridge of Light Award are still being accepted until Sept. 6, 2019, by the Northern Marianas Coalition Against Domestic & Sexual Violence.

The award is given each year to honor the accomplishments and sacrifices of one extraordinary individual or community hero who has worked diligently to provide safety for the community, to work to end domestic violence and sexual assault, and to be a “Bridge of Light” for victims and survivors in the CNMI.

The nominee may be a service provider, first responder, representative, or volunteer at one or more eligible agencies, organizations or offices in the CNMI, and who has been there for a minimum of one year. The nominee must also show dedication and effort in the areas of leadership, service, advocacy for victims, prevention, community education or mobilization, and resource development.

Nominations may be submitted by a victim or survivor; a member, representative, and/or volunteer of NMCADSV and/or the Family Violence Task Force; or an employee, representative, and/or volunteer at eligible CNMI agencies, organizations, or offices.

To verify if an agency, organization, or office may nominate, contact NMCADSV at (670) 234-3878 or email

Nominations may be submitted online through Hard copy nomination forms may also be submitted to the NMCADSV office located in Suite 206 of the Marina Heights I Building in Puerto Rico, Saipan during hours of operation (Monday through Friday, 9am to 5pm).

It is strongly encouraged that those nominating be as detailed and thorough as possible on the form to show why their nominee is deserving of the award as those evaluating nominations will consider nominees based on the information provided.

The deadline to submit completed nomination forms is 11:59pm on Friday, Sept. 6, 2019.

The recipient of the 2019 Bridge of Light Award will be announced during the upcoming Domestic Violence Awareness Month proclamation signing ceremony in October.

Past recipients include Department of Public Safety’s officer Flora Aguon, Karidat Social Services’ executive director Lauri B. Ogumoro, Division of Youth Services social worker Mildred W. Sikebert, Karidat Social Services’ counselor Elaine C. Dela Cruz, Ayuda Network Inc.’s executive director Diana Camacho, and most recently, the Attorney General Office’s victim advocate John Aguon.

For additional information or inquiries, contact the Northern Marianas Coalition Against Domestic & Sexual Violence at (670) 234-3878 or email (PR)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.