OPA surveying gov’t-paid purchased, leased vehicles

Except for 3 representatives, all House members have government-leased vehicles

The Office of the Public Auditor has requested assistance from House of Representatives Speaker Edmund S. Villagomez (Ind-Saipan) for information whether individual House members have purchased or leased a vehicle paid for by government funds, as part of OPA’s survey.

In response to Saipan Tribune’s inquiry, Public Auditor Kina B. Peter said yesterday that their office is conducting a vehicle survey for new purchased/leased vehicles.

“This is not the first time,” Peter said.

She was unable to provide more information as they are in the midst of their audit activity. “We will be issuing a report in the next week or so pending responses from the agencies we have reached out to,” Peter added.

In her letter to Villagomez dated Dec. 1, 2021, Peter requested assistance to obtain a listing whether individual House members have purchased or leased a vehicle paid for by government money.

When asked about this, Villagomez said yesterday that, according to OPA, it’s part of their scope of work so they just complied.

The list that Villagomez provided to Peter last Dec. 7 shows that except for Reps. Vicente C. Camacho (D-Saipan), Edwin K. Propst (D-Saipan), and Christina E. Sablan (D-Saipan), all House members have leased vehicles using government funds.

Villagomez has a 2018 Nissan Frontier; vice speaker Blas Jonathan T. Attao (R-Saipan), a 2019 Nissan Frontier; floor leader Ralph N. Yumul (R-Saipan), 2019 Honda Ridgeline; Roy A. Ada (R-Saipan), a 2020 Nissan Frontier; Celina R. Babauta (D-Saipan), a 2020 Honda Pilot; Sheila J. Babauta (D-Saipan), a 2020 Honda CRV; and Joel C. Camacho (Ind-Saipan), a 2020 Nissan Frontier.

Angel Demapan (R-Saipan) has a 2021 Hyundai Palisade; Joseph Flores (Ind-Saipan), a 2019 Nissan Frontier; Joseph Lee Pan T. Guerrero (R-Saipan), a 2020 Nissan Frontier; Richard T. Lizama (D-Saipan), a 2019 Nissan Frontier; Corina L. Magofna (D-Saipan), a 2020 Ford Ranger; Donald Manglona (Ind-Rota), a 2021 Nissan Rogue; John Paul Sablan (R-Saipan), a 2019 Nissan Frontier; Patrick H. San Nicolas (R-Tinian), a 2021 Nissan Rogue; Leila C. Staffler (D-Saipan), a 2019 Nissan Frontier; and Denita K. Yangetmai (D-Saipan) has two—a 2020 Nissan Frontier and 2021 Hyundai Flatbed Truck.

As of press time yesterday, Saipan Tribune was still trying to get the Senate’s own list.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at ferdie_delatorre@Saipantribune.com

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.