Torres now an honorary Lion


The newly inducted Filipino-American Lions Cub members pose for a photo after their induction ceremony last Saturday at the Fiesta Resort & Spa Saipan. (Kimberly A. Bautista)

The Saipan Filipino-American Lions Club welcomed their newest honorary Lion last week, Gov. Ralph DLG Torres.

The club inducted its 37 new officers and members last Sept. 8 at the Fiesta Resort & Spa Saipan, with Torres being one of the inductees. He was inducted by Philippine honorary consul to the CNMI Glicerio Arago.

According to Torres, he appreciates the work that the club does for the CNMI and is excited to be a part of their community and humanitarian causes.

“They’ve done really good to the community with their humanitarian services I am very blessed and I look forward to working with them and doing community service with them,” he said.

Torres said he was not aware that he was going to be inducted during the ceremony but it was an honor., having “attended a couple of meetings for the last three years.”

Aside from being inducted as an honorary Lion, Torres also inducted the new officers of the Lions Club himself.

Torres encouraged the new officers to continue their efforts and keep working on their community service goals.

The new officers are Annamae Adaza, president; Socorro Huliganga, first vice president; Eden Mercado, second vice president; Mario Mayuga, secretary; Rowena Salvador, assistant secretary; Maricel Cascasan, treasurer; Arman Amog, auditor; Nenita Marquez, club membership chair; Ernie Molina, club service chair; Leonila Mendoza, club marketing community chair; Reynaldo Ortiz and Juanito Sarmiento, Lion tamers; Cherry Beth Casila, public relations officer; and Ana Mercado, tail twister.

The members of the board of directors are Victoria Camama, Vilma Emboltorio, Lynn Reyes, Jean Pumatong, Lucilita Sante, Sonia Ancheta, Art Ancheta, Manalo Rosales, and Jaime Del Peralta.

The new members that were inducted were Victoria Camama, Raul Dolotina, Julia Norry Fabian, Segundo Laceperos Jr., Teogenes Mendoza, Doris Mercado, Rhose Ann Joy Prado, Avelina Lyn Reyes, May Sante, Milagros Pellegrino, Adelina Gomez, Shirley Segundo, and Maria Lee Labadan.

The new members from other Lions Clubs that were also inducted are the following: Nelia Aguon and Rose Marie Robediso of the Saipan Centennial Lions Club; Juvy Taitano, Maria Mayolina Garcia, Karen Aglipay, Frincess Fleumeria Garcia, Elena Enriquez, Mardette Joy Pittman, Annabel Tudela, Heidi Posadas, Stephen Aglipay, Enrique Cecilia,and Joel Vallega of the Saipan Alliance Lions Club; Helen Pacurib, Martha Badelles, Dyna Cabrera, Agnes Camacho, Elena Lopez, Maria Estrella Pelisamen, Shirley Villocino and Christian Atalig of the Saipan Marianas Lions Club.

Kimberly Bautista Esmores | Reporter
Kimberly Bautista Esmores has covered a wide range of news beats, including the community, housing, crime, and more. She now covers sports for the Saipan Tribune. Contact her at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.